Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

solidworks vs rhino

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2006, 02:39 PM
ptxman
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default solidworks vs rhino

Hi

I would like to hear some opinions from users who, ideally professionally or are reasonably proficient in both these packages in terms of pros & cons, relative likes & dislikes etc.

Presently I use Rhino v3, am self taught, am 'not bad' at developing complete surface models for RC applications, most projects as of late have been pylon type models which can get kind of demanding in certain areas. Im reasonably proficient at importing aifoils, background scans, reworking them into swervy curvy wings, lofting sections into fuses, checking surface quality in an amateurish way. Ive had some limited exposure to exporting these surface files out to cnc cutters for making plugs & molds, although Im toolpath program & cnc illiterate. I also have mechanical gizmos I mess around with & like to develop within 3d/Rhino. Im generally happy with the functionality, newsgroup based support although there appears to be way more educational reference material available for SW vs Rhino. I really struggle with filleting operations on anything over & above simple surfaces & of course typical aircraft are rarely simple. I 'hear' a lot about future enhancements, rolling ball fillet capability etc which I can readily visualize. But in terms of delivirables on that front, Ive almost given up. The printing & dimensioning is kind of rudimentary IMO, I would prefer better but its not really that big a deal. Better would be desirable if it came along for the ride. V4 is due to be released pretty soon which will be another level of investment. I did use Flamingo for the odd artsyfartsy rendering job but its not really a requirement I would pa