Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

How to 'slice' a DXF file?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2007, 11:13 PM
tasesq

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to 'slice' a DXF file?

Hi all,

Firstly - I have NO EXPERIENCE whatsoever with CAD programs.

I do however, have a DXF file of an aircraft.

What I was wondering, is there an easy way to take slices out of the aeroplane in the file - for instance slices along the length of the fuse to get fuse formers, and slices along the span of the wing to get ribs?
Old 02-12-2007, 11:43 PM
fritzke
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: How to 'slice' a DXF file?

NO if it's a 2D drawing (likely).
If it's 3d (unlikely), it's possible in theory, but if you don't know CAD, it's a long way to go
for what you need. Especially if you don't have a 3d CAD program. TurboCAD may be your bet bet there.
dave
Old 02-13-2007, 12:05 AM
omcusnr

No. The dxf file you have is not a drawing, its a text file that a cad program uses to create a drawing. You will need to import the dxf into a cad program and see what is looks like. If its a good plan, it'll have the formers drawn - those will be your "slices".
Old 02-13-2007, 08:21 AM
ppljr
My Feedback: (94)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you have a 3d file I suggest you download the Rhino3D trial. It will open up a 3d file and will "slice" contours. The trial version will only let you save a dozen or so times. BTW the program is excellent. If you have "kids" you can buy the educational version at a considerable discount. (Just like the full blown one, just not for commercial use.) Here is the link:

http://www.rhino3d.com/
Old 02-13-2007, 04:12 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

I think you guys are complicating this a lot for him.