Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Jensen Ugly Stick Build

Old 02-26-2007, 08:04 PM
Redwulf__34

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jensen Ugly Stick Build

This is my first build in a lot of years. I pulled out the set of plans from my dad's Jensen Ugly Stick. He built this in the late 60s I'm sure. Last Saturday I woke up to about 4 inches of snow here in Virginia. Good day to start building! So, I'm finally getting started.

I got most of my templates cut. I had the original plans copied and then I went to the local craft store and bought some relatively thick "chipboard". Used rubber cement to glue the fuselage sides ribs, bulkheads etc to the chipboard then cut them out. They may not last an eternity but I can get a few builds from it. Only planning on building one anyway. Who knows, maybe someone will ask me to build them one. I always enjoyed building more than flying. Well, almost more.

I'll probably not move real fast on this but I'll try to keep it updated if anyone finds interest in it.

Sean
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx71769.jpg
Views:	265
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	630539  
Old 02-26-2007, 09:39 PM
Mustang Fever
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Jensen Ugly Stick Build

Sean:

Just tagging on here so I'll get notified for each post. I like the idea of making templates for everything. I'm too lazy. Stick to only ribs.
Old 02-27-2007, 07:16 AM
Dr1Driver

I'm checking in because I LOVE seeing the old kits being built and flown. The Jensen Stik was a great-flying plane.

Dr.1
Old 02-27-2007, 01:22 PM
speed lover

just going to tag along too as Im new to building and would like to see how its done
Old 03-01-2007, 03:12 AM
buz2au

count me in - I want to build a stick for my next plane
Old 03-01-2007, 04:03 PM
Redwulf__34