RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/)
-   -   50% Extra 300 scratch built (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/scratch-building-aircraft-design-3d-cad-174/6846232-50%25-extra-300-scratch-built.html)

1fireball 01-03-2008 06:17 AM

50% Extra 300 scratch built

I am scratch building a 50% 300 from Carden plans that I blew up 118% I have posted this build on another sight and I was wondering if there was a interest here on this site? I am no plane designer or engineer I have a passion for large airplanes and anything that presents a challenge. The challenge here is to get the plane built under 55lbs ready to fly. It will be powered with a 3-W 275 competition version. I have requested help from others to help me achieve this goal. Everyones ideas are welcome. I have spent almost a month on the motorbox so far and it has come out well. We had a goal weight for the motorbox of 2.5 lbs and we got 1lb 15oz I am going to add more weight to the motorbox for bracing as I have allowed 2 1/2 lbs for it. This is a journey that hopefully will help everyone learn a little something. If there is interest here I will take the time to keep this site up to date.
Thanks
Mike Chandley

1fireball 01-03-2008 10:24 AM

RE: 50% Extra 300 scratch built

1 Attachment(s)
Here are some pics of the motorbox.

mmattockx 01-03-2008 12:58 PM

Wicked stuff, Mike! I would definitely follow a build thread on this monster.

I am not into really big stuff (a G-62 is a really big engine by my standards), but anything creative and out of the ordinary is always interesting to read about. Why don't you post some proposed specs and construction methods for our enlightenment and comment?

Mark

speed lover 01-03-2008 02:33 PM

G62 I thought a 26cc aeroplane was big looking forward to seeing how this is contructed