Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Old 10-16-2008, 07:02 PM
  #26  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Just to add a bit more....the floats themselves, ready to mount on the model, weigh about 6.7 ounces....I used 3mm carbon fiber tube and and 5/32 brass tube for the rear float mount. Maybe 7 to 7.5 ounces total added to the model...next I need to add water rudders. The model is so light the slightest breath of wind weather vanes it, as others have already said...

Randy
Old 10-16-2008, 07:48 PM
  #27  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Charlie: yeah, I agree on 2 rudders are better than 1. This little plane weather vanes very easily. I'll make the mods before the next float fly. Probably just connect them with carbon fiber rod. Don't know if you noticed, but I connected the floats with aero tubing. This took a LOT of the flex out of the set up. There is a lot of leverage on the stock LG. Now the floats don't wiggle around and they stay square to each other during taxiing and landing. I mounted the floats on the outside of the LG VS the inside. This widens the track width by 1 inch, which IMHO is critical with the stock narrow LG.
Old 10-16-2008, 07:59 PM
  #28  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

V2plus10: Nice job on the floats! I agree, the other style float is much easier to mount and repair. The hardware is a bit heavier, but this plane running the 480 motor just doesn't seem to care. To mount a water rudder you will need to remove enough material from the end of the float to epoxy some 1/4 inch ply into the transom. Then you can use a DuBro 5/32 nose gear block for the mount. I also used the DuBro parts for my float mounts. I made my transom, then water proofed it with thin CA prior to bonding it into the float. The CA will melt the foam. As stated by Charley, a water rudder is a must in even breezy conditions, as this little plane will weather vane a lot.
Old 10-16-2008, 08:04 PM
  #29  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

To all interested: I did a complete photo album of this build, right down to the rear airframe landing gear mounts and water rudder cable mods. I will try to find time to post pics in here this weekend. Again, much thanks to Charley for providing me with very valuable pointers.
Old 10-19-2008, 04:50 PM
  #30  
walrath596
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: , FL
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

What is your total weight with the 28" floats?
Old 10-19-2008, 07:11 PM
  #31  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

The weight of the floats is in post #26 above....I only have a gram scale and it maxes out at 500 grams...so I cannot get an accurate total aircraft weight with the floats....I can't even weight the airplane alone, but I bet it is near the manufacturers 30 ounce spec.

Randy
Old 10-19-2008, 09:06 PM
  #32  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Just curious, why you went with 28 inch floats? IMHO it only adds more weight, increases drag and adverse handling. The 24 inch float is perfect and the step is in the correct location. Not saying I'm Joe float expert, just that I have had great luck with the 24 inch floats and they support this plane with plenty to spare.
Old 10-19-2008, 09:50 PM
  #33  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

It just looked like the T-craft sat a little tail low in the water with the 24" floats. I think I used the "75% of the fuselage length" rule that I've used on several other float planes, and that comes out to 27" for the T-craft. With the 28" floats it sits level in the water, gets off just fine and flys very well, and looks well proportioned to boot....The step is about 1/2" behind the CG so that really is not a problem..
24, 26 or 28.. it seems they will all work fine....

Randy
Old 10-19-2008, 11:29 PM
  #34  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I used brass, aluminum tube and an old ground-down wheel collar to make a rudder assembly. The transom is 1/32 ply and the whole thing weighs 6.7 grams as it sits. It will need some kevlar thread to secure the aluminum tube, and a little paint. If doesn't give me enough control I'll make another for the other float...

Randy
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37478.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	133.9 KB
ID:	1055355   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dy79395.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	182.8 KB
ID:	1055356  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:31 AM
  #35  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I see your point. As long as it flys well, it really doesn't matter. I used the formula 80% from the prop to the rudder hinge line which gave me a dimension of 25.4. Charley had such good luck with his set up that I decided to go a tad on the short side with 24 inch floats. Typically this would not be the right direction to go on a short tail moment plane, but I just couldn't argue with proven success The only change I made was to move the step back a little. You will be very happy with the water rudder. I need to re-make mine, cause it didn't have enough surface area. Your rudder looks to be about 25% larger than the one I built, so you should be fine. Keep us posted as to how the plane handles in the water. If it works well, I'd like to know the dimensions so I can copy it. I'm getting ready to build a set of 36 inch floats for my decathalon. Should be a fun plane to fly on floats.
Old 10-20-2008, 09:20 AM
  #36  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

We get together to fly floatplanes every Thursday..if the weather holds I'll try it then. I think it will be fine. When I ordered the 28" floats I thought I could always shorten them some if needed. Maybe someone will try the 26" floats....!! Good luck with the Decathalon. It should be great fun..

Randy
Old 10-20-2008, 12:24 PM
  #37  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

They only let us use the lake 1 day a month[] The rest of the time is dedicated to the nitro boats and sailboats. We're looking for a better site, closer to home.
Old 10-21-2008, 12:22 PM
  #38  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

VR2+10,

Here are a couple of pics of my rudder setup on 24" floats. I used the float style with the wooden strongbacks, ply where the mounting screws go in, balsa from the ply to the ends. The rudder is brass sheet, with a 5/32" brass tube post. The pivot is 1/2 of a Dubro nosegear mount, the tiller is a nosegear steering arm w/integral collar. The pivot is epoxied directly to the foam and the balsa strongback.
It's strong enough for the drag of the water but ought to pop off if it hits a log, etc.

In the side view the float is a bit nose up as if just coming on the step. When the model gets on the step the rudder depth is set such that it is out of the water. I made the rudder a generous size, figuring to cut it down and reshape it later. Never got around to it. I put just enough paint on to seal the foam, no more. Both floats, LG and all HW weigh 7.75 oz.

CR
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec87623.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	1056242   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id97171.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	1056243  
Old 10-21-2008, 12:34 PM
  #39  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: Mojavegold

They only let us use the lake 1 day a month[] The rest of the time is dedicated to the nitro boats and sailboats. We're looking for a better site, closer to home.
Sounds like there are a lot more boaters than there are fliers. [&o] Is it a public park? I fly off a reservoir on the Guadalupe River, where no gas motors are allowed. We got away with alky burners, though. Fishermen have to use electric trolling motors.

CR
Old 10-21-2008, 10:34 PM
  #40  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: Charley


ORIGINAL: Mojavegold

They only let us use the lake 1 day a month[] The rest of the time is dedicated to the nitro boats and sailboats. We're looking for a better site, closer to home.
Sounds like there are a lot more boaters than there are fliers. [&o] Is it a public park? I fly off a reservoir on the Guadalupe River, where no gas motors are allowed. We got away with alky burners, though. Fishermen have to use electric trolling motors.

CR
Yeah it's way more boaters, but the biggest issue is the lake is only 1/2 mile away from the regular flying field, so there is potential of shootdowns for the FM TX guys. I am running 2.4 GHZ so it's not an issue, but they have yet to change the rules. I'm assuming all of the boat guys are on 2.4.
Old 10-21-2008, 10:48 PM
  #41  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

The surface models that aren't on 2.4 GHz are on the 75 MHz band, if they're legal. It's 72 for air, 75 for surface and 27 is a carry over from the original Citizen's Band. 2.4 is what my float planes are on. Makes things a lot easier.

CR
Old 10-21-2008, 10:52 PM
  #42  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: Charley

The surface models that aren't on 2.4 GHz are on the 75 MHz band, if they're legal. It's 72 for air, 75 for surface and 27 is a carry over from the original Citizen's Band. 2.4 is what my float planes are on. Makes things a lot easier.

CR
Good info. I wasn't aware of that. I have always been into aircraft and I only fly 2.4.
Old 10-24-2008, 06:29 PM
  #43  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

The water rudder worked just fine. It was another no wind day though. Here are a couple of pictures. The one picture has one-inch squares so you can estimate the size of the rudder...

Had to edit to get the pictures to come up....

Randy
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11968.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	145.2 KB
ID:	1058206   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez82155.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	133.3 KB
ID:	1058207   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sy63787.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	1058208  
Old 10-24-2008, 07:20 PM
  #44  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

What size props are you guys using? I started with a 12-6 but now am using a 10-7 with the Park480/1020. I was going to try an 11-6 but they didn't have any....

Randy
Old 10-24-2008, 11:40 PM
  #45  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: V2PLUS10

What size props are you guys using? I started with a 12-6 but now am using a 10-7 with the Park480/1020. I was going to try an 11-6 but they didn't have any....

Randy
I am currently running a 10X7, it works fine and doesn't pick up water off the floats.
Old 10-25-2008, 08:52 AM
  #46  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: Mojavegold


ORIGINAL: V2PLUS10

What size props are you guys using? I started with a 12-6 but now am using a 10-7 with the Park480/1020. I was going to try an 11-6 but they didn't have any....

Randy
I am currently running a 10X7, it works fine and doesn't pick up water off the floats.
I too have been really happy with the 10-7.....Thanks!

Randy
Old 10-25-2008, 05:19 PM
  #47  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: V2PLUS10


ORIGINAL: Mojavegold


ORIGINAL: V2PLUS10

What size props are you guys using? I started with a 12-6 but now am using a 10-7 with the Park480/1020. I was going to try an 11-6 but they didn't have any....

Randy
I am currently running a 10X7, it works fine and doesn't pick up water off the floats.
I too have been really happy with the 10-7.....Thanks!

Randy
You're welcome. I have run as big as a 12X6 at the field on 2.75 inch diameter tires with the 480 motor on 3S. Way too big for floats though, kinda like running an Evinrude outboard...
Old 11-02-2008, 12:29 AM
  #48  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Here is a link from the last float fly. I took off with a low lipo, so the take off run was a bit long and the flight was short, but she lands so nice. The trick to flying flat bottom floats on this light plane is a very flat approach, cut the throttle and grease her in. Also, my mistake on the above post. I am running an 11X7 APC with the park 480 motor for float flying.

http://www.soaringunionoflosangeles....t25oct2008.wmv
Old 12-15-2008, 07:23 PM
  #49  
smithder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

V2PLUS10 - Would you mind posting some detailed pictures of your setup?

THANKS!!!
Old 12-15-2008, 07:39 PM
  #50  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

No trouble at all!! The carbon fiber legs and spreaders are 3.2mm, and the brass tubing is 5/32" OD. I also used 5/32 aluminum tube over the CF spreaders for spacers. If I were to do it again I'd use the 1/8" nylon gear mounts to mount the floats, rather than the vertical mounts that I made from G10 fiberglass sheet. Paint is Nelsons.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sp45137.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	78.3 KB
ID:	1090407   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up48549.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	82.4 KB
ID:	1090408   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ye84435.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	1090409   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wp40466.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	1090410   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ju14190.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	1090411   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qh66390.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	38.2 KB
ID:	1090412   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bd66389.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	1090413  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.