Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Old 12-15-2008, 08:26 PM
  #51  
smithder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

VERY NICE. THANKS FOR THE PICTURES

This looks like a pretty light weight way to get it done.
Old 12-15-2008, 08:43 PM
  #52  
smithder
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Whats the distance between the mounts on the floats?
Old 12-15-2008, 08:51 PM
  #53  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: smithder

Whats the distance between the mounts on the floats?
I'd put the floats at least 3" further apart than the stock LG mounts allow.
Old 12-15-2008, 09:31 PM
  #54  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Fore and aft they are 8 1/2" apart, and in width about 8 7/8" apart. The front mount is about 2 1/2" in front of the step. As Charley says wider would be better. I used a stock gear because it was quick and easy but you could sure bend one up from sheet aluminum and widen the stance some.

Randy
Old 12-15-2008, 09:39 PM
  #55  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I don't think I'd use the CF/brass as a front mount. You probably want something that will absorb the shock of landings like the stock aluminum. The rear mount is really there mostly for stability.

Randy
Old 01-07-2009, 11:06 PM
  #56  
furn1593
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

any advice on using the 24" foam floats from maxfordusa would be appreciated. the price looks like it might be worth a try.
[link]http://www.maxfordusa.com/js-foam-floats.aspx[/link]
Old 01-08-2009, 12:54 AM
  #57  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: furn1593

any advice on using the 24" foam floats from maxfordusa would be appreciated. the price looks like it might be worth a try.
[link]http://www.maxfordusa.com/js-foam-floats.aspx[/link]
If they are only the 12oz apiece as advertised and you can get the step on the CG,they sound OK. Er, if you can stand the weight?.......
Old 01-08-2009, 01:37 PM
  #58  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: furn1593

any advice on using the 24" foam floats from maxfordusa would be appreciated. the price looks like it might be worth a try.
[link]http://www.maxfordusa.com/js-foam-floats.aspx[/link]
I have a pair of those and the quality is severely lacking. The mounts are very cheesy plastic, not nylon and bonded into the foam. Plus they have no keel and no easy way to mount a water rudder. I think they were designed for super light craft. Just my humble opinion.
Old 01-20-2009, 08:50 PM
  #59  
furn1593
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

think these would work?? [link]http://www.sigmfg.com/IndexText/HRR509.html[/link]
Old 01-20-2009, 11:01 PM
  #60  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Sure, they're just more work than the foam core floats. Plus, foam core floats will never take on water and sink. Just my opinion.
Old 01-25-2009, 06:07 PM
  #61  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: furn1593

think these would work?? [link]http://www.sigmfg.com/IndexText/HRR509.html[/link]
Those are 23 3/4" long. I used 24" floats and if I had it to do over again I'd use 26".

CR
Old 01-26-2009, 10:47 AM
  #62  
furn1593
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

why the 26" - what was the problem with the 24"
Old 01-26-2009, 02:40 PM
  #63  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: furn1593

why the 26" - what was the problem with the 24"
Just the way it looked and handled. I have a gut feeling it would be better on the longer floats. Look at post #1.

CR
Old 01-26-2009, 02:47 PM
  #64  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: Charley


ORIGINAL: furn1593

why the 26" - what was the problem with the 24"
Just the way it looked and handled. I have a gut feeling it would be better on the longer floats. Look at post #1.

CR
Yeah, she would probably track a little better on TO. She does rotate very nicely with the shorter float though...ya never know. It probably won't hurt to go with the longer float.
Old 01-26-2009, 06:11 PM
  #65  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: Mojavegold


ORIGINAL: Charley


ORIGINAL: furn1593

why the 26" - what was the problem with the 24"
Just the way it looked and handled. I have a gut feeling it would be better on the longer floats. Look at post #1.

CR
Yeah, she would probably track a little better on TO. She does rotate very nicely with the shorter float though...ya never know. It probably won't hurt to go with the longer float.
And I used the 28" floats....they work fine and look good, but I bet 26" would be perfect....

randy
Old 01-31-2009, 10:28 AM
  #66  
furn1593
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

heres what I have so far - this is some of the toughest geometry Ive done in a while... all parts custom made from flat sheet aluminum besides the streamline tubing of course
Old 01-31-2009, 10:51 AM
  #67  
V2PLUS10
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

The floats and the mounts look great...are they flat-bottomed?? You will probably get a chance to try them off snow before water!

Randy
Old 01-31-2009, 12:19 PM
  #68  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Wow! That's nice. Kudos to you. All those little brackets. I don't have the patience for that kind of work any more.

CR
Old 01-31-2009, 12:34 PM
  #69  
furn1593
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

the floats forward of the step have a sight v, and the backs are just about flat. Forgot to mentioin how rigid this setup is and seem real light to. They are the herr minis, and will get hangar9 ultracote silver this weekend. dont think i will fly from the snow - hate the cold... thanks for your compliments. Survey - how much would you pay for this semiscale float rigging? Just wish my taylorcraft didnt look like its been thru a blender, anyone want to send me a new one?
Old 01-31-2009, 12:50 PM
  #70  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Great looking bracketry and floats! Not to be critical, but IMHO the only thing that I would have done differently would be to center the float on the lower mount. Reason: you have a lot of leverage on that mounting point by having it on the inside edge of the float. It may eventually fatigue and crack the lower aluminum bracket at the bend. I know you mounted them this way to increase the width of the floats footprint, but that could have been accomplished by opening up the bends in the brackets. Again, just MHO, no criticism intended
Old 01-31-2009, 01:15 PM
  #71  
Falcon6667
 
Falcon6667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Elberton, GA
Posts: 338
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

>>>>>>>>>>OUTSTANDING LOOKING bracketry and floats<<<<<<<<<<
Falcon
Old 01-31-2009, 04:14 PM
  #72  
furn1593
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

then I would be tripping over the brackets all the time while walking the floats to pump them out....
Old 01-31-2009, 05:21 PM
  #73  
Charley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kerrville, TX
Posts: 2,127
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


I suspect he did it that way for scale accuracy.

CR
Old 01-31-2009, 06:33 PM
  #74  
Mojavegold
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I suspect you are right... So where are all the rivets, cables and access hatches
Old 02-01-2009, 10:41 AM
  #75  
furn1593
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

working on the cross wires now.... so how do i model rivets? under the covering?
I think I may actuall move the brackets in a little, like make the outter holes the inners, going for semi scale and want it to be functional... working on the paddle also this week...

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.