Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
 E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats >

E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Old 06-03-2009, 10:40 AM
  #101  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I have been thinking of buying this motor for the taylor Craft from http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...dproduct=3886#It is the Trunigy <font size="3">TR 35-36C 1100kv Brushless Outrunner (Eq: AXi 2814</font>

With the float weight would this be a good choice? If not what else other than E fight's?
Thanks
Old 06-03-2009, 11:03 AM
  #102  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I don't really know that much about it....I just went with the recommendations that were on the side of the box....When you start comparing brands of motors and what equals whatI am at a loss...somewhere no doubt there is a chart that matches up the different brands ...
Old 06-03-2009, 06:31 PM
  #103  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

dont do it... that motor is way to big for this plane (in length), I have one on a great planes extra 330 and it will pull it vertical to the heavens. The 35-30 might be a better choice. Im thinking i might give the sk series a try when back in stock
Old 06-03-2009, 10:22 PM
  #104  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

That's good to know! I will take a look at the other motor.
sk series? What is that?

Thanks
Old 06-03-2009, 11:03 PM
  #105  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

GREAT I now I decide to buy and the motors are both out of stock with no time of arrival. It never fails.....
Unless you think the 1700kv would work. There in stock. But I think not with a 10x7 prop.
Old 06-04-2009, 09:02 AM
  #106  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats



stick with the low kv motors - better for big props - heres some motivation


</p>
Old 06-07-2009, 09:47 PM
  #107  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Thanks for the motavation! I just ordered the 26" floats from Sea plane Supplies. The Taylor Craft was out of stock at the local hobby shop but will be in next week.
I am still looking at motor options and found BP Hobbies has the A2217-9 950KV for 10-35 oz planes.
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...2605&amp;img=l

A good price but then am I going to regret it? Any advice on this?

Looking too for the right speed controller and it would be interesting if anyone has a thought about this one with my thought on the motor...
http://www.bphobbies.com/view.asp?id...6916&amp;img=l

I am not opposed to the Eflight options but I would like to shave some off the price to get it all set up. I still need a receiver and servos.

BTW I noticed the flaps you cut in on the T Craft. Are they nessesary and did they actually help with this small of plane?

Any further thoughts are welcome and you all are pushing me along just fine in the indever.
Thanks

<br type="_moz" />
Old 06-08-2009, 10:41 AM
  #108  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I put like 30 to 40 degrees in the flaps and use them as dive brakes... in these parts lakes are surrounded by trees and the flaps help getting down without airspeed increase.
Old 06-13-2009, 03:41 PM
  #109  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

UPDATE:
I have the kit in the shop! The Floats from Sea Plane Supplies are here too. I am starting to build today!
I went with the eflight 480 but at 950kv. I also went with the TP 36amp ESC.
I also picked up a BP motor 2217/9 and will keep it as a spare or perhaps find another kit to use it on.

BTW on the floats I went with the #3 style 26" and will be trying to get the airstream supports like<span class="Apple-style-span" style="font-family: verdana; font-size: 11px; font-weight: bold; -webkit-border-horizontal-spacing: 1px; -webkit-border-vertical-spacing: 1px; ">furn1593. S<span class="Apple-style-span" style="font-family: Arial; font-size: 12px; font-weight: normal; -webkit-border-horizontal-spacing: 0px; -webkit-border-vertical-spacing: 0px; ">o any input or more pictures of building and making the braces would be great to see if you have any.

Oh one more thought.. Where did any of you mount the ESC to protect it from possible dunking. If you did not place it on top of the motor mount, did you need to add extened leads from it to the motor?

You have all been great and thanks for the ideas.
<br type="_moz" /></span></span>
Old 06-13-2009, 05:35 PM
  #110  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Glad you took the "plunge"!! That combo should work just great. I use a 10-7 prop but that is with the 1020 motor. I hope you will post a few pictures as you progress....and some flight photos.

I did not do anything special with the ESC, it just sits alongside the battery, loose. ButI too am interested in seeing what others did...Have Fun!!

Randy
Old 06-13-2009, 07:14 PM
  #111  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

heres what i did with my esc - esc came in heat shrink up to where the wires go in and out, so heres what i did. Used hot glue on both ends to seal up the esc and down the wires a bit out from the esc. Now slide over some more heat shrink on both ends and heat it with the heat gun so the heat shrink, well shrinks and the hot glue also melts. The result is the heat shrink sqeezing out some melted hot glue on both ends and what Im hoping is a waterproof esc . Would rather not have to find out if it is by dunking it but it looks pretty good. It is mounted just in front of the seats ans yes had to make the wires longer. The mounts kinda look like this when you cut the aluminum plate make the bends slow because you dont want to have to bend it back and forth (metal fatiuge), the tab will go up into the k&amp;s streamline tubing so you can then drill and screw.
Old 06-13-2009, 07:39 PM
  #112  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XD5grjxous4- not the taylorcraft or a floatplane but I do have the floats ready for the lake trip - 2nd week of July, 71" cub on glodberg superfloats - check out the ground loops, grass was just mowed and there were numerous large clumps making takeoff a challange, and landing for that fact. might switch back to the maxford 40 fiberglass floats - there 34" and the golbergs are 36" (Just a little to long i think - got 3 1/2 oz in the tip of each float, where as the fiberglass only took 2 oz in the tip of each.
Old 06-16-2009, 09:30 PM
  #113  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

BTW ,,about the Lipo you all used. I know it is 1800-2200-20c  3sp1 but did you all use the short length pack or the the longer stick pack. <div>Reason is, I have a pair of Kong Power lipo's and they are too fat height and lengh to fit in the compartment.</div><div>I was planning on getting some new ones anyway and I think those Zippy Lipos would fit better.</div><div>What do you all say?</div><div>Thanks Again.....</div>
Old 06-20-2009, 10:34 PM
  #114  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Hey guys !<div>I got my Taylor Craft built and will start the floats next week. I do want to <span style="font-weight: bold;">ask another question as to prop style. I bought the APC 10x7E for electric but happened to review here and noticed the use of the APC SP prop. Which one should I be using. </span></div><div><span style="font-weight: bold;">I tested the motor in the shop tonight and boy does it have some pull. I didn't throttle up all the way and this thing is all power with the 10x7E prop and the eflight 480 910kv motor.</span></div><div><span style="font-weight: bold;">I hope it's not too much for the plane. </span></div><div>
</div><div>Oh , she balenced out right at the 2 3/8 mark perfectly with the 2200mah zippy battery. </div><div>
</div><div>Thanks and next post I'll add a pic or two.  Not like you all haven't seen a Taylor Craft though</div>
Old 06-27-2009, 09:47 PM
  #115  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

lets see what you got so far..... on the edge of my seat here
Old 07-14-2009, 10:24 PM
  #116  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I finally got my floats made, covered and mounted. Now I am balancing the plane with floats and found I will need 3oz. of weight on the floats to make it balance back to the original CG. Seems like a lot or is it? Do you remember if you had to add any weight to yours and how much?
As soon as I get the weight figured I will take some photos of it and I'll post them. BTW, I choose not to custom make the gear. I went with the original main and made my own rear mount. It was way too much time and fuss. But you should be glad to know your probably the only one who has the nicest looking float gear ever!!!!

Thanks again for all your help people!
Judd
Old 07-15-2009, 08:54 AM
  #117  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

post a photo, might help with ideas on the weight issue - I dont think you should need that much. what did you make the rear mount out of, lead??
water rudder adds weight way, way back... pay attention here to keep it light.
also - jam that battery forward up against the cowl. mine touches! enjoy.... i have been, just got back from a 4 day trip to the lake, 3 days were flyable, pure enjoyment. had a line of boats out watching, makes for challanging landings.
Old 07-15-2009, 10:21 PM
  #118  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Okay here is My Taylor Craft!!!!!!
I had to add two onunces of weight to the floats.


Thanks to everyone for all your help and comments.
Hope to get some video of it flying next week at the lake.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11850.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	1237235   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw73492.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	1237236   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xc78549.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	1237237   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fz72900.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	1237238   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wi59722.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	97.5 KB
ID:	1237239   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oe57190.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	1237240  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:36 PM
  #119  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

is that a steel wire for the rear mount - if so loose it and get some carbon fiber rod and some brass ends, should shed some weight off the front.
Old 07-29-2009, 08:37 PM
  #120  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats


ORIGINAL: furn1593

is that a steel wire for the rear mount - if so loose it and get some carbon fiber rod and some brass ends, should shed some weight off the front.
Well I took your advise and switched out the rear gear with carbon fiber and aluminum corner bends. I saved a litle weight but still had 1 1/4 ounces on the tips.
However, last week I made the madin flight on the lake and after replacing the prop from the 10x7 to the 11x5.5 it flew fantastic.
I did have one misshap landing and broke the left float clean just at the step. I reglued it with the newer fast acting Gorilla Glue and also used two small carbon rods to join the float together. The wost was over and I got to fly the pants off that plane.

I will finally conclude my postings with another picture and the link to see my on board vedio I took using the Mini Micro Cam from "Nitro Planes".
You have all been a inspiration to me in my quest to make this palne fly and get the float setup right. THANK YOU ALL very much.
Here is the video link http://vimeo.com/5813215
It's a bit long but neat.

Judd
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11975.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	1246116   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tp46365.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	18.1 KB
ID:	1246117   Click image for larger version

Name:	Io28838.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	12.3 KB
ID:	1246118   Click image for larger version

Name:	At55372.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	73.4 KB
ID:	1246119   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lw20023.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	1246120  
Old 07-29-2009, 08:52 PM
  #121  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 888
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Fantastic!! Looks like great fun....

Haven't watched the video yet, but I will!!

Randy
Old 07-29-2009, 09:21 PM
  #122  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

cool... remember steel is for anchors.

nice vid... got me itchy to get back to the lake - heading up on aug 10th for 2 weeks. hope to get some onboard and will have a land based camera guy with me.
want to save more weight, if your tc is a dedicated seaplane - ditch the tailwheel. and oh yea, can save a gram or 2 by trimming those aileron pushrods... hahhaha!!

glad your enjoying it, I am, this is my new favorite in the hanger.
Old 08-23-2009, 07:47 PM
  #123  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

(taps playing in the background.....) NTSB reports a taylor craft found floating inverted with wing and floats destroyed on indian lake ny, 4 souls aboard (watching from beach), cause of catastrofic failure was pilot error for selecting wrong model on transmitter with excessive rudder travel which caused water rudder cable to move over center and lock up full right rudder causing a spin straight into the water.

Anyone got a wing laying around??
Old 08-25-2009, 12:11 PM
  #124  
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Roseville, MN
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Sorry to hear of your fate.
Sorry but I haven't got an extra wing.
Did you get any photos of the incident?

I just took off the floats over last weekend and flew it at the club field. I need to get larger wheels for the grass runway!

I also had a mishap and there is a video of it on the same site as mentioned above. I actully ripped off both floats from the main gear and as they dangeled in mid air i watch it belly land picking up water as the whloe underside of the fuse ripped away.
Got it back together and still flys great without any electrical meltdowns.

Hope your mishap was not on the first flight of the day. But sounded like it might have been.

JW
Old 08-25-2009, 08:36 PM
  #125  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: greenlawn, NY
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

was on the last day of a two week vaca..... figures... flew the snot of of it just about every day.. tried a few props over the course - liked the 10x7 SF with the 450 the best. had some trouble with takeoffs about half way thru the flight with the non SF prop.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.