Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Old 05-27-2010, 06:33 PM
  #126  
YukonMac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Holland, MA
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Hi Furn1593,

My name is Jim...u got a nice plane there....i havent flown mine yet.....but here r some pics......

Its got a park 480 motor, and a 12X6 prop....and will most likely need it, for my floats are abit heavy. I didnt go with any cables to tighten up the floats, but decided to go with twin rudders (tied together) controlled by one servo y'ed to the plane rudder. The extra(or third cross tie between the floats) helpedto tightenthe floats.

Didnt like the way the 2200 battery tied-in, so I built a more stable battery compartment ....to keep it in place.Battery is as far forward as i can get it (settling in about 1/2 inch from the firewall).

With the weight of my floats and the 480 engine, My CG is at the 2 5/8 inch mark .....i hope this will help give me more control of the plane, seeing i have never flown with floats before...lol

Take Care...by the way, i put your login name as a referral...so u might get something from RCU !!!!!!!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88568.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	1443501   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qm35630.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	1443502   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va72870.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	1443503  
Old 01-03-2011, 07:31 PM
  #127  
HPetersen
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brookfield, WI
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

Greetings! I just acquired a Taylorcraft 450, that was assembled with floats, at a swap sale. It has no water rudder. I'm reading that having one or two is recommended. Can you share your configuration? Thanks
Old 01-09-2011, 08:34 PM
  #128  
slowglowflyer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Park City, MT
Posts: 317
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: E-Flite Taylorcraft 450 on Floats

I have a single water rudder on the floats I am building. I used the topnotch float kit found on their website. If you go there you can access the instruction manual and see how they build the water rudder. Mine is a little different and is actually retractable. How do electric airplanes stand up to water? I would think that water and electricity dont mix. Also does water get into the cooling hole on the bottom of the fuse in the back? Looking at it makes me think it would.
Old 06-11-2022, 02:59 AM
  #129  
biggles2008
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hamilton, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I know old thread but have a Taylor craft putting on super cub floats,
i was wanting to know if you guys taped up the holes in bottom of fuse for float flying
cheers

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.