Notices
SimJet Turbine Direct Support Direct support for SimJet Turbines provided here.

Simjet 1700 glow plug

Old 11-16-2012, 05:46 AM
  #1  
jaybeevee
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Kingsdown, Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Simjet 1700 glow plug

I have a 1700 that was running fine a few weeks ago, but following a re-install after some work on the airframe, it wont now start. After the stick is moved up and back to initiate the start, nothing happens, and the display unit shows "glow plug disconnected" The plug is connected, and it is ok. I have removed the wiring loom to the fadec and checked for continuity and all appears to be ok. Glow plug power is set at 032.
Any help would be appreciated.

John
Old 11-17-2012, 02:30 AM
  #2  
K Jorgensen
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
K Jorgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ebeltoft, DENMARK
Posts: 318
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Simjet 1700 glow plug

Hi John

Did you check with another glowplug ore did you check the first one with another power source. Sometimes they can be burned, so you can’t see it. Other that that, try to check all the wires again. If it is not that, must be a faulty ECU. Maybe you should try to contact Gaspar.

Best

Kim
Old 11-17-2012, 09:27 AM
  #3  
jaybeevee
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Kingsdown, Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Simjet 1700 glow plug

Hi Kim
Thankyou for your reply, but I have now solved the problem. I spoke to a friend today who has several Simjets, and he has had a similar problem which was caused by the earth not getting through to the casing, and was solved by loosening the screws around the front of the case and retightening.His earth is inside the frontcover.My earth is through the Jetstrap, and I found there was no earth reading on the case. Strange considering the amount of contact area,and that it worked before,but after rotating the case in the strapa few times we now have an earth. To ensure it does not happen again, I am now going to connect direct to the case. Another lesson learnt.
Old 11-17-2012, 11:04 AM
  #4  
K Jorgensen
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
K Jorgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ebeltoft, DENMARK
Posts: 318
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Simjet 1700 glow plug

For some reason, I expected that you where using a Gaspar ECU. But if you are using the SimJet ECU, this problem can be a bad earth in the engine and sometimes it is the threaded ring that you screw the glowplug in to, that has come loose from the combustion chamber.

Hope you get it going

Best

Kim

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.