Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > SimJet Turbine Direct Support
 Gaspar ECU and reset funksjon. >

Gaspar ECU and reset funksjon.

Notices
SimJet Turbine Direct Support Direct support for SimJet Turbines provided here.

Gaspar ECU and reset funksjon.

Old 07-14-2009, 10:38 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gaspar ECU and reset funksjon.

Hi,

To my 3000 I have an Gaspar ECU that i think has been corrupted. After my old fuelpump burn`d up the ECU will not go down to idle, it stops at 33000rpm. I have set it to 28000rpm. I have tryed to adjust the stability delay, I can try to set this from 5 to 100 and nothing happens, it runs stabil at 33000rpm. In this days the engine is mounted in a Harpoon , so the engine needs to go low on idle. I have tryed another ECU and the broblem disapeard. I have also tryed everything with my radio and settings in the ECU.

I have also contacted Gaspar but i dont think he understand my problem, he write to me that i have to adjust the radio settings.

Is there any way to reset the ECU?


Old 07-14-2009, 11:30 AM
  #2  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bath, PA
Posts: 1,112
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Gaspar ECU and reset funksjon.

Hi Chris-G

Are you using a TAXI fuel tank attached to your aircraft fuel vent system during taxi or start up ?

Please advise.



Old 07-14-2009, 11:52 AM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Gaspar ECU and reset funksjon.

Hi Vampire,

Yes I do, but when I have tryed to fix this problem in my workshop I`m not yousing it. I understand that you think about the pumpvoltage that maybe is a bit higher with the startup tank?


Old 07-15-2009, 10:17 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Oslo, NORWAY
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Gaspar ECU and reset funksjon.

Now it is ok. I did this that you wrote in a another thread....


"reset" the ECU as follows:

Turn off the Rx / ECU.
Unplug all cables from the ecu EXCEPT the Throttle to RX and Pump/BatteryCable to remian connected.
Insert Data Terminal, Turn on the RX / ECU, it should display READY. (Tx. throttle down / trim up)
Power down the Rx / ECU.
Plug all the cables back into the ECU. (solenoids, T/C, RPM sensor and Glow / Starter)

Power up the ECU.......initiate a start sequence......should perform correctly.


Old 07-16-2009, 06:43 AM
  #5  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bath, PA
Posts: 1,112
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Gaspar ECU and reset funksjon.

Hi Chris -G.

Yes, if you run your turbine the first time with the "Strat Tank" in place, this will cause the ECU to see a higher pump voltage to achive proper spec idle and when this tank is diconnected, the pump voltage required now is less and so the ECU will continue to use setting which causes a potentially higher idle.

As you have discovered, the "re-boot" proceedure does work in cases like this.

One other method that Gaspar had passed onto me is that you can start your Turbine and just let it idle for several minutes WITHOUT the "taxi-tank" connected as this will allow the ECU to reset itself to the spec rpm as well.

This is the same procedure for training the ECU with a NEW pump but in that case you would walk the RPM's up in 10> 15,000 rpm increments and STOP at each increment for a few secounds allowing the ECU to "learn the Pump to RPM" curve for your engine. When you get to full throttle, you will likely see that the ECU is jsut a bit short of MAX rpm's but you will see it climb to meet the spec RPM as the ECU teaches the pump to meet that RPM requirement.

Hope all this info helps.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.