Notices
Smart-Fly (Quest Engineering) Support Forum Support forum for all Smart-Fly products. Equalizers, Batshare, Ignition Cutoff, Regulators.

Help run out of channels, what do i use?

Old 06-02-2008, 01:32 AM
dubs1946

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help run out of channels, what do i use?

Hi, i am new to very large large aircraft, i am building a 100inch TA-152 (a long nose very powerful wooden aircraft derived from a FW190D built in 1944) i have been flying R/C for 30 years up to 30 cc and have a lot of experience and i am now in the process of installing the flight electronics of the TA-152 with a 3W85cc approx. 40LB so i am moving into a new section of the hobby and need some help.
On looking and talking with other club members who have large gas models some are using your Smart-fly system, i have discussed it with them but i am still having trouble getting my head round it all.
My aircraft at the moment has 13 servo,s
2X 12KG on the ailerons taking 2 CHANNELS
2X 10KG on the flaps on a Y lead to 1 CHANNELS
2X 12KG on the elevators taking 2 CHANNELS
1X 10KG on the rudder, 1 CHANNEL
1X 2KG on the throttle with a Sullivan smoke skywriter taking 1 CHANNEL
1X 2KG on the choke, 1 CHANNEL
1X 2KG on Smoke, taking 1 CHANNEL for on/off
1X 2KG on parachute release,taking 1 CHANNEL
1X 2KG on air retracts, taking 1 CHANNEL
1X 2KG on bomb release, taking 1 CHANNEL

It has a 5200Mah Fromeco Lithium ion battery and a Fromeco regulator running 6volts, my radio is a 9cap with a 2.4 gig module and a Futaba R6014 FS receiver.
The 2.4 9cap only has 8 channels in 2.4 gig mode so the 14 channel receiver gives me redundancy for power connections.
As i am running out of functions on my 8 channels i am using at the moment 12 channels so i will have to use a second Pilot and transmitter for the Smoke/chute/bomb. Also i am not happy putting all that power through the receiver i must go to a Power system like yours.