Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

Genesis - Hull Only - Rest of hardware needed.

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Genesis - Hull Only - Rest of hardware needed.

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2011, 11:51 AM
BearPaw

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Genesis - Hull Only - Rest of hardware needed.

Since Genesis Offshore can not be shipped to my country due to size/weight constrains of our postal system, I was thinking to order hull only version.
Here comes tricky part. I am a boat newbie, and need help what else should I order with Genesis (which rudder, which drive shaft, strut, nuts...) in order to give life to the hull.
Servo I plan to use:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=16266
Motor:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=4937
or
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=5146
Esc will choose later.
So for this setup, I need advice for rest of the hardware needed. Also it would be great if everything would be from hobbyking. Also would prefer cheaper variant (who won't).
Twin powered systems also acceptable.
Old 06-02-2011, 02:34 PM
Von Ohain

Default RE: Genesis - Hull Only - Rest of hardware needed.

Dont use that KB, its too heavy and ineficcient.
I have no experience with the HXT, but being a very cheap and unknown brand, I doubt it will match up with what Im going to suggest for you:
Leopard.
Those motors are the best things that ever happened to my hobby since I started doing electric.
They are utterly amazing, and they still cost just a fraction of what expensive brands does, allthough a little more costly than HK motors.

How many cells are you planning on using?
Those motors you suggested yourself are not suited at all for the same cell count number, one being 1600Kv, and the other being 2700 Kv.