Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

"FrankenBoat" Build

Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

"FrankenBoat" Build

Old 06-13-2011, 07:04 PM
  #1  
akaxauto
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
akaxauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Islip, NY
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "FrankenBoat" Build

About 2 years ago I bought an NQD High Wind Speed boat. This boat had two 380 sized Brushed motors running so that on would cut out to steer. This boat was OK but I wanted to go faster. My cousin had his old stock brushless set-up from his RTR SC10 and we put it in. It is a Reedy 3300kv brushless motor. the truck ran a 2s 24c Lipo. I wanted to know what is the largest battery I can run without harming the ESC and Motor.
Old 06-14-2011, 01:56 AM
  #2  
Von Ohain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: trondheim, NORWAY
Posts: 367
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE:

We need a lot more info than that to be able to answer your question.
Old 06-14-2011, 06:56 AM
  #3  
ryan_t888
 
ryan_t888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5,521
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE:

Physical Size of battery is typically related to only capacity and C rating. These factors should not harm an ESC or Motor if you are planning to use larger values than before. Choose the highest C rating you can budget and select a capacity around 5000mAh. The only reason to select a smaller capacity battery is for physical size or weight restrictions.

A more valueable question would be which prop to use. Wrong gearing on you RC Car can certainly toast your system. Wrong prop on your boat can certainly do the same.

Ryan
Old 06-14-2011, 08:29 AM
  #4  
akaxauto
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
akaxauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Islip, NY
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE:

Tested it out today and to my surprise it wasn't spectacular. Running a 2s 24c 4100mah lipo, the motor sounded like it wasn't reaching top RPM. Would a battery w/ a higher C rating fix this?
Old 06-14-2011, 08:45 AM
  #5  
ryan_t888
 
ryan_t888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5,521
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE:

What prop?


Ryan
Old 06-14-2011, 10:23 AM
  #6  
NobodyFamous
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cheverie, NS, CANADA
Posts: 619
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE:

It is more likely that your prop has too much pitch. (tires are way to big) Your kv is only good up to 24,420 RPM, you want to be closer to 30,000 RPM.
3s would be the most you would want to run, that takes it up to 36,630 RPM and will give you a huge boost in performance. You need a proper prop though!!!
A proper setup boat will also run much faster then poorly set up one. Your first step is to make sure you are running the right prop.
Old 06-14-2011, 03:28 PM
  #7  
akaxauto
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
akaxauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Islip, NY
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE:

I have no idea what pitch the prop it is. The prop came with the boat but the fact that the 380 brushed motors were able to run the prop is beyond me.Is there any way to measure the pitch?
Old 06-14-2011, 03:46 PM
  #8  
ryan_t888
 
ryan_t888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5,521
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE:

Measure diameter in mm.

Ryan
Old 06-14-2011, 03:58 PM
  #9  
akaxauto
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
akaxauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Islip, NY
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE:

37mm diameter 2 blade surface piercing type propeller
Old 06-14-2011, 07:46 PM
  #10  
ryan_t888
 
ryan_t888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 5,521
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE:

That sounds about right. You could move up in prop size if temps are good. May be able to use a 40mm prop.

Keep in mind car motors don't usually work for boats. In your case RPM is a bit slow. Typical car setups have too much RPM.

Ryan
Old 06-18-2011, 04:02 PM
  #11  
blizard05
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE:

Does anyone know where to get the stock props for the high wind ?? larry
Old 06-19-2011, 06:52 PM
  #12  
akaxauto
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
akaxauto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Islip, NY
Posts: 16
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE:

blizard05 if I am correct it's an odd size shaft and I don't know where to get stock replacements
Old 06-20-2011, 04:15 AM
  #13  
blizard05
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE:

They are 3m Got it without props,Want to see what I can do with this thing before I convert to BL power. Larry

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.