Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

Automated RC Fishing boat advice please

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Automated RC Fishing boat advice please

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2017, 02:36 PM
StulyonsNZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Automated RC Fishing boat advice please

Hi all,
Complete noobie to rc boats and this site but appreciate any advice you may be able to give me.
Here in New Zealand a popular style of fishing is 'Kontiki' fishing, where essentially an electric 'torpedo' (many in DIY homemade form) is set from a beach and takes a set longline out to sea. The line and torpedo is then reeled back into the beach from an electric winch. Basic torpedo's usually have a timer control that is set from the beach and runs an external electric motor for a set amount of time then stops when the time is up but gets the line 1-2kms out to sea.
I am wanting to build a torpedo for this purpose but draw on a combination of RC boat and quadcopter elements to give the unit some 'smarts' and added functionality. My end objective is to be able to point the torpedo in the desired course (bearing), the bearing is then set, the torpedo heads out following the bearing for set distance (say 2kms) a servo is activated that releases the line from the torpedo and the torpedo then follows the course back to the starting point (GPS) where it is retrieved.