Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

Stinger drive

Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Stinger drive

Old 08-05-2020, 05:20 PM
billydean676

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stinger drive

Let's start with me and my son are new to rc boats we've had trucks for a while but decided to play with boats. I am a carpenter by trade and we are building a 48" catamaran. I am starting to skin the frames now and want to make sure i don't have to tear anything apart later on for the stinger drives. I am planing on running two motors in it. My question is what do I need for stinger drives?
Old 08-06-2020, 03:16 AM
billydean676

Well i thought I was going to post a picture but it says I can't until I have 10 post.
Old 08-12-2020, 02:12 PM
Hydro Junkie

Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts

A stinger drive is basically a tube within a tube and a mounting flange. All you need to do is drill a hole in the back of each sponson, line up the stinger with the hole and run your flex cable tube to that hole. Pretty much all there is to it. One thing you may want to look at is where your water line will be. To keep water out of the hull, it's best to have the inboard end of the tube above the water line OR have the tube stuffed with grease to seal it and prevent water from getting in to the boat.
Old 08-12-2020, 03:10 PM
billydean676

Originally Posted by Hydro Junkie View Post
A stinger drive is basically a tube within a tube and a mounting flange. All you need to do is drill a hole in the back of each sponson, line up the stinger with the hole and run your flex cable tube to that hole. Pretty much all there is to it. One thing you may want to look at is where your water line will be. To keep water out of the hull, it's best to have the inboard end of the tube above the water line OR have the tube stuffed with grease to seal it and prevent water from getting in to the boat.