Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Old 11-12-2005, 04:21 PM
  #26  
rooski
Senior Member
 
rooski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , SC
Posts: 475
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

You can get a "fast" charger pretty inexpensively. With one of these babies...you can recharge an 1800 mah nicd in about 30 minutes. If you decide to stay in the hobby and get or make a real FE boat, you will want a charger that can charge 2 packs at once (up to 14 cells) like the Dynamite Twin Peak charger or....if you really want to go for it...get a Triton charger that can handle like 30 cells at once.
Old 12-02-2005, 10:24 AM
  #27  
SoMoney
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 67
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Okay this is interesting. You obviously burnt the motors out here but did you install a rudder some place OR were you still using the VECTOR THRUST ESC that comes with these NQD boats?!

IF So you found a cheap sollution for most NQD owners..
1. Replace the motors with some that can handle the 14v and your done.
(untill the esc burns out)
or
2. Replace with 2x480's as described earlier and toss in an 11v LiPoly 2000+ cell
(untill the esc burns out)




ORIGINAL: Jkeith247

So, I was bored the other day and found a couple of extra battery connectors in my tool box. With carful thought decided to run 12 cells (two six cell packs 7.2V 30A 3300mah each). OMG! The boat is fast with 14.4 volts. Motors got a little hot, but to be expected. I know I will probably burn the motors out pretty fast running 14.4, but the motors were 10 bucks a piece. The motors are rated to handle 7.2 to 9.6 volts. So, if I am running two motors in series, with two batteries connected in series, what resistance will the dc motors provide, both motors arent recieving 14.4 volts, right?
Old 12-02-2005, 12:56 PM
  #28  
itmark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

I just bought the NQD 757 cat off ebay for £28 UK. It only goes at walking pace and never planes. Did the tiwn 480's make it plane and would you say at jogging / running speed?
Old 12-02-2005, 04:56 PM
  #29  
pompebled
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sneek, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 2,451
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

If you've just bought it and have run it only a few times, the Nicad battery will not be up to speed yet.
It can take up to eight charge/discharge cycles, before full power is available.

The NQD boats I've seen, all plane with the standard motors.

Regards, Jan.
Old 01-09-2006, 12:25 AM
  #30  
gromitvt10
My Feedback: (19)
 
gromitvt10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SolomonsMD
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

HI,
I got this boat off ebay and what a disappointment[] first of all the ebay ad said that it went in reverse anf did 15-25 mph. unless i can't figure it out, it does not go in reverse and tops out at about 5 mph, and the battery lasted about 5 minutes before dying. OK, i'm done venting, for now
I want to put a 9.6v battery in it, can the 380 motors handle that??? thanx

Kyle
Old 01-09-2006, 06:48 AM
  #31  
bwrk3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: elkton, MD
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

no dont do that you will melt the hull try biger moters then biger batery if the moters tell you to
Old 05-02-2006, 08:44 PM
  #32  
speed kills
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 85
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

u know u could just get 1 of them koyisio dolphin out boards which are like a 700 type and that wouldnt even be touching the hull
Old 05-03-2006, 03:59 AM
  #33  
Auslide
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down under, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

I must have got a Good one.. Mine Moves..
It Doesnt Plane though, it cavitates BADLY at top speed and High Speed turning...

What can you do to help cancel Cavititation??

http://media.putfile.com/Under-the-Bridge-64
Old 05-03-2006, 04:50 AM
  #34  
speed kills
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 85
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

mine fine and it doesnt do a wamping thing, hey do u rekon if i take the 38s out and get a 550 outboard do u rekon it il run well
Old 05-03-2006, 08:23 PM
  #35  
kyrus
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

magnat,
you'll need to find a way to reposition the battery more towards the center than its current position. It may only take 2-3 inches. I imagine you are running 7 cells instead of the stock 6 cells. If so, you'll notice with the increase in power- the weight has increased as well. I had the same problem and was able to correct it by what I've suggested. I had a different model than you, but the basic function of the ebay boats is the same.
Old 05-04-2006, 12:08 AM
  #36  
Auslide
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down under, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Thanks..

I am Still using a 7.2 Volt Battery, Just with a larger Mah Rating.. a Traxxas 2700mah Nimh. The Run time has trippled, speed initially was a lot quicker.

So I am just not sure on How Far Forward?
Level with the Motors?

I have added floatation up the front so If I over Do it it Should be OK..
I will add about 150Grams of Lead weight in between the Motors and See if it doesnt Help..

I will keep you informed..
Old 05-04-2006, 02:36 AM
  #37  
speed kills
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 85
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

YES hey some guy who i was chatting 2 from gosford said if you were to put a koysho dolphin 2 outboard you would need a new servo sweet i found one if i upgrade my nqd will sht on all of the skock nqds
Old 05-04-2006, 07:37 AM
  #38  
Auslide
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down under, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Of Course, if you replace the NQD Gear , you will have a Sweet Boat.. Its not the Hull that is at faullt with these boats, its the Electronics that hold them back...

I still like my Boat the way it is, I mean for the $70 I paid for it, It keeps me happy.. I must say though, mine at least feels like it goes faster then a running pace.. Hell I know it is faster then I can run..

I seemed to have at least got the Weight issue kind of sorted out, it still bounces at full speed...
It is only bouncing on tight turns at Speed.
I like its rather narrow turning circle..
I am just waiting for a friend to join me with his CEN Baja Electric.. so we can see just how different the boats are..
I know he will nail me with Speed but I am Not sure about Turning Circle...

It is Like it wants to Plane at High speed, but just doesnt Have the Speed to get it out of the Water..
I will try and reposition the Battery to in between the Motors and see if that does not help...
Old 05-04-2006, 09:01 AM
  #39  
kyrus
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

I added velcro on top of the electronics box and positioned the battery to where 1/2 was on the box and half was suspended in air over the motors. Again I had the problems when I switch from a stock battery to a 7 cell 3000 Nimh. Adding a weight in the front will acheive a similiar result but perhaps slow the boat down. My hull is different as well but I'm certain the battery reposition will help. i 'd not want the battery too close to the motor as heat could cause damage to your back. if you try between the motors just make sure u have clearance to where the battery is not touching.
Old 05-04-2006, 07:31 PM
  #40  
Auslide
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down under, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Sideways Mounted ontop of the Battery Box??

I will use Blu Tac as a Trial run and see
Old 05-04-2006, 09:03 PM
  #41  
Auslide
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Down under, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,417
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Results
Well..
Thats made a Huge Difference..

Mounting the Battery Side Ways above the Electronics Box has Smoothed it all out..(Supported by 20mm Pipe insulation as floatation)
Turning Circle has widened a little, its not as Sharp as it was before.. but the Ride is Silky smooth..
It has Smoothed it out an unbelieveable amount.. it now cuts through its own wake with little bouncyness...

http://media.putfile.com/turbojet-o6

Cavitation has Reduced by 90%

See for yourself.. Size : 5MB
Old 05-05-2006, 02:49 PM
  #42  
kyrus
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Mill, SC, US MINOR OUTLYING ISLANDS
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

glad to hear it worked out for u
Old 05-05-2006, 04:58 PM
  #43  
speed kills
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 85
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

hey i wish ur problem happend 2 me cause me and my friends have tinnies and we wamp them by jacking the motor and if u turn u can make hudge 5m splash, so u could just do that by wamping the rc
Old 05-12-2006, 09:53 AM
  #44  
dariomonguio
Junior Member
 
dariomonguio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: sanlucar de barrameda, SPAIN
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

look this link
http://translate.google.com/translat...language_tools
Old 05-12-2006, 06:35 PM
  #45  
mocars2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 361
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Has anyone put a GPS in one of these? How fast are these actually when they are stock?
Old 05-16-2006, 11:35 AM
  #46  
dariomonguio
Junior Member
 
dariomonguio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: sanlucar de barrameda, SPAIN
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

28 mph gps insife
Old 05-18-2006, 01:49 PM
  #47  
mocars2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 361
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

Come on - 28 MPH stock - then why would anyone need to mod it. Or was it 2.8MPH
Old 05-18-2006, 02:30 PM
  #48  
CadillacDTS2001
 
CadillacDTS2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tottenham/Orillia, ON, CANADA
Posts: 6,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

that sounds way to fast for this boat !
mabey it was km an hour
Old 05-20-2006, 05:45 AM
  #49  
dariomonguio
Junior Member
 
dariomonguio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: sanlucar de barrameda, SPAIN
Posts: 20
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

sorri 28 km/h gps inside boat
Old 05-21-2006, 11:38 PM
  #50  
ib2525
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: NQD High Wind 757 upgrade

I have a similar boat, same setup but due to a couple of problems, one motor burnt out and then one of the relays it uses to swith the motors on and off for turning also ended up with a fault.

I have replaced the stock motors with two MIG 400 6v and as for the burnt relay decided to replace it with an old Futaba 2 channel radio i have lying about.

I have kept the two motor setup but have now got an ESC and instead of trying to find a rudder that costs less than about $20 US to get to me I am using a small servo from one of my retired parkfliers and two micro switches to turn the motors off so that it will turn.

Primitive I know but it is more an exersise to see if it will actually work. As the motors and the relays are only good for about 10 amps I am hoping that they dont pull that much, only time will tell, The ESC should be fine as if they do the relay will burn out before the ESC does..

I am putting all this back into the hull this evening, all going well I hope to run it tomorrow sometime to test. If it turns out it burns somthing out I am just going to bite the bullet and buy a rudder or modify one I already have to work with this hull and throw a 540 or 600 at it depending on money and if it is really worth doing


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.