Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Spektrum DX7 with Water

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Spektrum DX7 with Water

Old 11-19-2011, 04:25 AM
  #1  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spektrum DX7 with Water



Hiya guys,
Some time ago i kept reading the DX7kept getting glitches when being used with RC boats...

Just wonderingdoes anyone use the DX7 with there boats is there still issues???????

Cheers

Jack

Old 11-19-2011, 05:31 AM
  #2  
martno1fan
Senior Member
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

Try the cheap flysky radios they seem to work well on water plenty of guys using them and only 35 quid lol,if you prefer more expensive setups then futabba fasst is the way to go.
Mart
correction near enough 30 quid now ,mine only took 5 days to arrive
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FlySky-GT3...item415305c0b2
Old 11-19-2011, 07:10 AM
  #3  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

I ran a 6EX radio on my boats but got into helis and the Futaba 6EX is a nightmare to set up with them, so bought a DX7 on ebay with 6 RXs... Im thinking ofchangingmy fleet of RC all over toSpektrum ifthe boats are ok with spektrum that is, get rid of all my futaba RX and TX stuff.

Jack
Old 11-19-2011, 07:24 AM
  #4  
nothinbetr2do
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: elkton, MD
Posts: 3,657
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

wow, i'm guessing you guys on the other side of the pond don't use a pistol style radio. i that was the normal with land/water based r/c's
i have a dx7, but only use it for my heli's and planes. i use a futaba 3pm for my nonflying r/c's
Old 11-19-2011, 08:57 AM
  #5  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

The regular Spektrum RX's are terrible on water. I've seen them start to glitch after about 100 feet. Now, I have driven a friends boat with the Spektrum Marine RX and it worked flawlessly! That will mean getting rid of the stock RX's and replacing them with the Marine units.
Old 11-19-2011, 10:56 AM
  #6  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

Cheers for that Ron, i'll have alook into the marine rx's then... i thought id read it somewhere!!!
I dont get on with Pistol style Tx...just a personal preferance. i surpose its just like you americans like automatic gearboxs on your cars and brits like Manuals!!! (altho ive gone auto)LOL

Old 11-19-2011, 02:23 PM
  #7  
snatch-it
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: red rose country, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

hi all.

i use a dx7se to fly all my planes including my gas turbines.
for the boats i use futaba 6ex, the 2.4 version. never had an issue, even with the aero recievers

i find it hard work to drive the boats with pistol grip, but, i put that down to flying the planks for 25 years

nigel
Old 11-19-2011, 02:46 PM
  #8  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

Hi Nigel
why dont you use the dxfor your boats?
Old 11-19-2011, 02:51 PM
  #9  
snatch-it
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: red rose country, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

hi jak
when i started with the boats spektrum didnt have a dedicated marine receiver. i have tried it since and it worked fine.

i just keep the futaba for the boats and the spektrum for the planes.

nigel
Old 11-19-2011, 02:59 PM
  #10  
martno1fan
Senior Member
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

Even the company making Spektrum dont advise using it on water and i emailed them to find out and posted the reply on this forum thats why they came out with the new marine rx.Seen too many people on here and elsewhere crying after loosing a boat to Spektrum ill never buy it.If you allready have a futaba fasst 6ex you allready have the perfect radio for the job,its what i use mostly never one glitch and the rx is packed in the radio box no external ariel either.
Mart
Old 11-19-2011, 04:54 PM
  #11  
snatch-it
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: red rose country, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

evening mart.

no aerials sticking out of my radio box either, still on its original receiver as well. same systems in all my boats and never had a single glitch.
futaba deffo works good over water

nigel
Old 11-19-2011, 09:30 PM
  #12  
Hesco Racing
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Town, , SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 822
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

Keep your 6ex for the boat use the DX7 for everything else. We have 9 guys in our club running 6ex and not one glitch problem.

Cobus
Old 11-20-2011, 12:35 AM
  #13  
martno1fan
Senior Member
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water


ORIGINAL: snatch-it

evening mart.

no aerials sticking out of my radio box either, still on its original receiver as well. same systems in all my boats and never had a single glitch.
futaba deffo works good over water[img][/img]

nigel
Yea best £100 i ever spent m8 (second hand),mine has the tiny rx with two 3-4" antenna wires and works awesome.
Mart
Old 11-26-2011, 09:27 AM
  #14  
djmcc50
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pgh, PA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

I myself have been using a Spektrum DX6i for all my applications.  Oringinally it came with with my RTF airplane.  I have not had a single glitch with it in three yrs..  Since i owned it.  I installed ar6110 RX's in my parkflyers and edf jets.  I also use an ar6110 in my hpi mt2(nitro truck).  And being to anxious to run my nitro tunnel hulls used same rx in them, with no problems.  However did purchase the spektrum marine rx for additional security. 
Old 11-27-2011, 03:26 AM
  #15  
noisy
Senior Member
 
noisy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: sydney nsw, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 160
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

i use the dx7 on all my boats but you must run the mr3000 receiver.... never had a problem...i did have issues with the other style receivers ..but since the switch..no worries..and i run 6 boats on my tx ..from mono's to gas and nitro airboats.....bob
Old 12-07-2011, 12:32 PM
  #16  
Mario Giordano
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Porto Sant\'elpidio, ITALY
Posts: 173
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

Hi guys, any of you knows if the new Spektrum dx7s dsmx is compatible with the mr3000 rx? thanks
Old 12-08-2011, 08:56 AM
  #17  
oneboatnut
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , TX
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

Ditto on the Flysky. I have one and use it with all my rc stuff and never had any issues. The receivers have been submerged many many times and I even got the transmitter wet too and it still works perfectly. The best $45 I've ever spent.

ORIGINAL: martno1fan

Try the cheap flysky radios they seem to work well on water plenty of guys using them and only 35 quid lol,if you prefer more expensive setups then futabba fasst is the way to go.
Mart
correction near enough 30 quid now ,mine only took 5 days to arrive
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FlySky-GT3...item415305c0b2
Old 12-09-2011, 01:11 AM
  #18  
martno1fan
Senior Member
 
martno1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 11,390
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

Yea not heard of many if any problems with these el cheapo radio systems,i havent tried mine yet but will be doing next season.
Mart
Old 12-09-2011, 02:51 AM
  #19  
Hesco Racing
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Town, , SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 822
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Spektrum DX7 with Water

We have 12 running in our club and only once have we had a glitch where 2 transmitters were running on the same spot in the 2.4 range. Just rebound the one and all was fine. what we did find is that if you stand at waters edge the range looses about a 1/4 but once you get onto the driver's stand no problems.

Cobus
Old 12-16-2023, 01:22 AM
  #20  
Foiler1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2023
Posts: 1
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Setting up dx7 for boat

Originally Posted by noisy
i use the dx7 on all my boats but you must run the mr3000 receiver.... never had a problem...i did have issues with the other style receivers ..but since the switch..no worries..and i run 6 boats on my tx ..from mono's to gas and nitro airboats.....bob
Hi how do you set the Spectrum DX7 up for boats as I wish to use mine for a sailing yacht hence throttle on left stick and rudder on right stick



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.