Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

first boat?

Old 01-25-2012, 06:22 PM
t-max97
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default first boat?

Hey i'm new to boats and i have a 34cc chainsaw engine that I've been trying to figure out what to do with, I've considered a plane but i'm kinda leaning towards a boat. Like i said i'm new to boats so what would be a good easy to build or cheap to buy idiot proof boat? thanks
Old 01-25-2012, 08:38 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: first boat?

A chainsaw engine is not the way to go in a boat. First, they're really heavy. Secondly and most importantly, the rotation of the engine is backwards for boat use.
As far as good and cheap boat kits, check out www.zippkits.com . Easy to build, very reasonably priced and a very helpful detailed manual.

Really, forget the chainsaw motor. If you have to go cheap, look for a Homelite weedeater motor.
Old 01-26-2012, 03:40 AM
t-max97

Ive seen videos on youtube of boats with chainsaw engines so it can be done, As far as it being heavy im not looking for a speed demon just something to play around with at the lake and the engine is actually fairly small to be a 34cc. For the engine rotation couldn't you buy a prop thats backwards? thanks
Old 01-26-2012, 05:25 AM
amrharrymac
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post