Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

What engine do i have??

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

What engine do i have??

Old 06-03-2013, 02:07 PM
  #1  
ryeguy247
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What engine do i have??

Hey guys, i recently aqqired an engine from a friend for my boat. i had no problem getting in running but after putting a few laps down at the lake i noticed it not being able to hold and idol and came down to being a leak in the crank seal. so now to replace it. I am pretty positive it is a homelite motor but other then that i have no idea.



thanks for the help guys!
Old 06-03-2013, 02:51 PM
  #2  
enrgizerbunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What engine do i have??

Can't see the picture.
Old 06-03-2013, 05:26 PM
  #3  
ryeguy247
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What engine do i have??

Old 06-03-2013, 05:30 PM
  #4  
ryeguy247
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What engine do i have??

sorry here it is again

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94581.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	136.1 KB
ID:	1888724  
Old 06-03-2013, 09:38 PM
  #5  
rangerfredbob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,686
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What engine do i have??

That's a Homelite, if there's a bridge in the exhaust port it's a 25cc, no bridge (and no signs of being ground away) it will be a 30cc
Old 06-04-2013, 10:48 AM
  #6  
ryeguy247
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What engine do i have??

thanks! any idea where i can find a crank seal for this thing?
Old 06-04-2013, 11:58 AM
  #7  
enrgizerbunny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What engine do i have??

If there's a homelite dealer (or small engine repair shop that deals homelite) nearby you can probably get it locally. Otherwise I'd start googling to find an online dealer.

That engine came out of a weed trimmer or a similar sized piece of equipment, if you weren't aware.
Old 06-05-2013, 10:02 PM
  #8  
rangerfredbob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,686
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What engine do i have??

Depends on what you mean by crank seal, the crankshaft is sealed with the sealed bearings at the snout, on the backplate there's just a gasket which you could make from some card stock or gasket material (silicone is not recommended)
Old 06-16-2013, 02:20 PM
  #9  
ryeguy247
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What engine do i have??

okay thanks guys, another problem i am having it keeping the flexshaft from sliding out of the motor. the motor has a square end on it which i filed down the end of the flexshaft to slide in. am i doing this right or is there an adapter that i can buy to hold the flex shaft in without if sliding out. the flexshaft is 1/4 also.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.