Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Ac 36 sprint cat

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Ac 36 sprint cat

Old 07-25-2016, 04:52 PM
  #1  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ac 36 sprint cat

Looking for advice on the best size zen for this boat looking for high 50's bought it used with a qdraw that needs to be replaced. Using it for sport And have a couple a 2716 for props
Old 07-25-2016, 06:34 PM
  #2  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

If it's a 36" Sprint Cat it's a Aeromarine not AC - AC makes a 36" Nitro Cat but no easy task to fit a Zen in it

Post a pic of your boat - most likely a Aeromarine - easier to help when we see what you have
Old 07-25-2016, 06:40 PM
  #3  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Send the QD in for a rebuild or update. They'd rather do it right for you than for you to try it. A freshly rebuilt QD should take a lot more prop than that.
Old 07-26-2016, 08:27 AM
  #4  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sorry it is an aero sprint cat will try to send pics is there anyplace in Canada that can rebuild a QD thought a stock 360 pun would be more reliable and easier for a new be to run
Old 07-26-2016, 09:04 AM
  #5  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

QD is in US but they do rebuilds for Canucks all the time give them a call

http://quickdrawengines.com/

Most of the time a rebuild is cheaper than a new Zen - and will out perform a stock Zenoah pretty easy

Call em see what they say

Randy
Old 07-26-2016, 12:10 PM
  #6  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

It's a good reliable motor. For the money you'd drop for a new Zenoah you're better off getting that one rebuilt by QD. Those engines are monsters no matter how old or new they are. They're anal about doing things right.
Old 07-26-2016, 02:21 PM
  #7  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks i will get in touch with them to see how much they want to get it right the shipping is what might kill me. still going to try to send some pics have not done that before
thanks
Old 07-26-2016, 03:43 PM
  #8  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by gzee
Thanks i will get in touch with them to see how much they want to get it right the shipping is what might kill me. still going to try to send some pics have not done that before
thanks
The shipping is not that bad. But a QD redone by QD is well worth the money and has waaaaay higher resale valve than most Zens

QD always does FIRST CLASS work and will not rip you off and will do what is needed for power and reliability

Randy

Last edited by mistycreekboats; 07-26-2016 at 04:03 PM.
Old 07-26-2016, 04:14 PM
  #9  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

To Post pics








Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	2.36 MB
ID:	2174533   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	1.96 MB
ID:	2174534   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	2.39 MB
ID:	2174535   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	2.29 MB
ID:	2174536  
Old 07-26-2016, 04:23 PM
  #10  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

here are some pics
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	20160726_191137.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	434.1 KB
ID:	2174539   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160726_191214.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	386.9 KB
ID:	2174540  
Attached Images   
Old 07-26-2016, 04:24 PM
  #11  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks for your help on pics
Old 07-26-2016, 04:54 PM
  #12  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

You can also use the "Go Advanced" at the bottom right side of the reply box.
Go down and click on the "Manage Attachments" then use the uploader to take shots from your computer so at that step it's identical to the way that Randy told you.
Old 07-26-2016, 04:54 PM
  #13  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

That's a darn good set up - worth getting rebuilt for sure - and keep that pipe (exhaust) that's a factory QD exhaust very good power when running good
Old 07-26-2016, 05:02 PM
  #14  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

He's right you know. That hot pipe setup alone is a good $200.00 by itself. It's a newer engine and is well worth saving. I had one in a 'rigger and regret selling it with the boat when I sold it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	http___www.kodakgallery.com_imaging-site_services_doc_5505_817800130508_jpeg_BG.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	2174541  
Old 07-26-2016, 06:57 PM
  #15  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

bought the boat used had the walbro257 rebuilt. have the carb set close to what is recommended. using 2716 props, runs great in the driveway but having a hard time getting it to run under load you get a lag and it stalls How do you guys make adjustments for this without it being stuck out in the pond.Have been trying for 2 summers and had it running for a while but no where near as good as it should be. so i thought a new motor might have been the answer. I have run E/L boats for a bout 5 yrears and this is the first gas. If you can offer any advice it would be a great help
Old 07-26-2016, 07:33 PM
  #16  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Make sure all the gaskets on intake are good - what are your settings ? 257 usually 2 low 1 high

What runs good on land doesn't mean it will run good under load

Fuel system good ? Spark plug good? a new carb is 30 bucks us and worth trying before a fuel $$ on rebuild
Old 07-26-2016, 07:40 PM
  #17  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

That looks like a 644 cover plate on it if that's a 257 ? 257 has a flat plate on top

http://www.gizmomotors.com/index.php.../wt-257-detail

Maybe carb is mixed and matched but doesn't look like normal 257
Old 07-26-2016, 07:44 PM
  #18  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I sent you a pm
Old 07-27-2016, 03:17 PM
  #19  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i sent you a pm
Old 07-27-2016, 07:08 PM
  #20  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Good eye Randy! Walbro's primered carb doesn't have the smooth bore like that one does. The previous owner may have put it on himself. Most people don't use those carb's although they are good as most find that all you have to do is place a finger or thumb over the opening to draw fuel in the pull it over slowly until your digit is wet.
Old 08-02-2016, 03:09 PM
  #21  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

i am putting in a new coil up front and i have a new 257 to install after that
Old 12-05-2016, 05:41 PM
  #22  
gzee
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: lasalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks to all your help i had a much better summer at the pond the boat ran well , still adjusting but running high 60's getting mid 70's new 257 carb,coil was moved to one of the stringers ,strut angle was adjusted ,gap on plug changed thanks again guys for talking me out of a new motor
Old 12-10-2016, 03:11 PM
  #23  
mistycreekboats
My Feedback: (1)
 
mistycreekboats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PG, BC - Canada
Posts: 927
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Glad you got it to run better

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.