Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Heli guy needs boater help! Topic about high RPM drive cables for your BIG props

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Heli guy needs boater help! Topic about high RPM drive cables for your BIG props

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2003, 11:56 AM
Greg McNair
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heli guy needs boater help! Topic about high RPM drive cables for your BIG props

Hi guys, my name is Greg McNair, and I am a scale helicopter builder/pilot in Birmingham AL. I am always on the lookout for better technology for my aircraft, and it occurred to me that you guys might be able to help me with an issue. The tailrotor drive mechanisms on these helicopters is typically either wire, torque tube, or belt. When using the torque tube, flexible couplings are required. Wire usually doesn't require it because there is enough flex in the wire to allow some radius bending. Belts obviously don't require couplings. I am building a project that has a 45 degree tailrotor, as shown in the photo here:

It will be going inside a fuselage that looks like this:

Instead of using bulky intermediate gearboxes, etc, I would like to use a flexible drive cable that I can put couplings on at either end, and make a long gradual sweep to make that final 45 degree turn up to the tailrotor gearbox. Do you guys use any type of flexible cable for your prop drives? We have used speedo cables in the past, but one of the problems we have with those is that they tend to "unwind" when loads change quickly. A penny for your thoughts?

Thank you!
Old 12-29-2003, 11:32 PM
tsunami

Default RE: Heli guy needs boater help! Topic about high RPM drive cables for your BIG props

how thik can the cable be?
or a better question is the size of space wher the cable is

this should help