Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

New Guy with Boat Question

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

New Guy with Boat Question

Old 01-26-2004, 01:34 AM
OldCoot
My Feedback: (47)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Guy with Boat Question

I am new to both gas boating and this forum but have already learned much from the rest of you before joining by browsing the posts.
I have been in the R/C hobby for 30 years and fooling with 1/5 scale gas cars for many years but have just aquired my first boat.
I got a Gator hull (Super G) from a friend and installed a Superior HE23HP engine that I was about to try in one of my cars.
Not only am I impressed with the boat but also hooked. Strapped on the GPS and it tops out at 37.4mph.
My questions are:
For lack of a better term I am having trouble keeping the boat from "hooking" in a turn.
Is this a setup problem or just lack of driving skill ??

The boat has an Octura XP drive and I am using a prather 275 prop.
Had no idea that balancing and polishing was such a chore !!
The strut has two lead/teflon sleeves. The shaft seems a little loose in these. What is the normal life expectancy and I assume that due to their makup do not require any type of lubrication.
The shaft also has plastic thrust washers in which one seems to be worn down to about half the width of the other.
I did install a new drive cable / teflon sleeve / and stub shaft.
I am using a standard marine grade wheel bearing grease.

Am I on track ?? Any advise is greatly appreciated.
Old 01-26-2004, 02:27 AM
Doubledog
My Feedback: (48)

Default RE: New Guy with Boat Question

The boat is hooking because:
A- you're turning too hard at speed
B- you've got your throws set too much

at least thats what I've personally experienced.