Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
 Sub-drive to Surface-drive >

Sub-drive to Surface-drive

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Sub-drive to Surface-drive

Old 01-28-2004, 05:47 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Van Buren twp, MI
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sub-drive to Surface-drive

Looking for someone in the Detroit area, to help me change my sub surface drive to a surface drive. I do not have enough confidence in myself to do this yet! Will pay for your time.
Thanks

Screamer25cc
Old 01-31-2004, 09:50 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sneek, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 2,451
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Sub-drive to Surface-drive

Hello Screamer!

I'm not even remotely in your area, but given some info on your boat, I'm sure I can point you in the right direction.
Perhaps a picture?

Converting to surface drive is mainly a lot of work in terms of neatly getting the old subsurface drive out and closing the hole.

The rest is relatively easy, assembling the boat again in a surface drive mode.

Most fun is the setting up to make it run properly.

Best regards, Jan.
Old 02-02-2004, 06:55 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Van Buren twp, MI
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Sub-drive to Surface-drive

I am expanding my search to all of michigan and northern ohio, If you can help me with this please email me at [email protected]

Thanks

Screamer
Old 02-07-2004, 11:59 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Sub-drive to Surface-drive

Screamer, its not a big deal. Simply remove the old brass tube and re glass the hole. Run a new tube at the bottom of the hull and exit at the transom as low in the hull as possible. Re adjust the engine angle to meet the shaft log and adjust for height, keeping the cg as low as possible. Surface drive shaft logs need less bend then sub surface, as the distance in the depth is only to the bottom of the keel. Adjust your strut to meet the exit hole, leave about 1/2" distance between the shaft log and ferrule to adjust for strut angle and the rest is basic. You need only small increments of height adjustments to get the surface prop working right. Think positive. You can do it. Drop me a line at [email protected]. I can even email some pictures and you'll see how simple it is. You will have to maybe change the strut bracket and depending on the strut you have, to be able to raise the drive. Since I make my own hardware, I cant suggest which to use. I have in the past used Marine Specialties dual rudder set up with a 2" extension and it worked great. Yo will also need surface drive prop.
Old 02-08-2004, 01:37 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Port St Lucie, FL,
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Sub-drive to Surface-drive

Screamer25cc


As was said, remove old tube and glass up the hole.

To make things easier for the surface drive installation, go to warehousehobies.com and get their ISO pad. It comes with a lined tube. Then pick up a SPD III or other surface drive system they have. Lastly you're going to need a new prop. I run a Prather 275, but you should match it to your power.

-Mike

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.