Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

new to rc boats, help

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

new to rc boats, help

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2004, 11:45 PM
brett0004

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to rc boats, help

Hi guys, I am just building my first rc boat hull from scratch using my own plans that I drew up with CAD, and have some questions as I am very new to all this, the boat is made of ply coated with resin, it is 47" long. I will be powering it with a weedy motor, cause there are a few that I can scrounge up around here for nothing. 1. what size in cc would be ok. 2. what size in surface drive and rudder assembly would be suitable, I have looked at a few on the net but there seems to be a lot to choose from. 3. What prop size do I choose, bear in mind it is not intended to be a racer just to take the kids out (and dad) to have a bit of fun. I have attached a picture hope someone is able to help.

cheers Brett from Western Australia
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv65744.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	130174   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez83829.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	130175   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl20514.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	130176  
Old 05-08-2004, 05:59 AM
pompebled

Default RE: new to rc boats, help

Hi Brett,

I used the kids as an excuse for my boating activities for a while, but now they run their own boats and I'm having trouble keeping up!

In your hull, i'ts a beauty!, a 25 cc weedy would do just fine.
If you have a LHS near, I'd pick up the strut, rudder and the rest there, they should be able to give you advice.

Also take a look at www.shark-racing.com lots of info on weedwacker motors.

How wide is the hull?