Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

conversion help needed

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

conversion help needed

Old 07-14-2004, 07:37 AM
wingnut1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default conversion help needed

Have a poulan 42 cc chainsaw motor i am going to convert for use in a boat, i am new to the gas game so i have some questions. How do i make motor mounts and a coil mounts for this engine? Has anyone converted one of these motors before? How about a water jacket, the plug is on an angle? I have a mill and a lathe that i can use and i have read most of thhe post in this forum and spadworld as well. Most conversions i have seen are for airplanes, there doesn't seem to be as much on boats?
Old 07-14-2004, 09:40 AM
BajaBob-delete

Default RE: conversion help needed

Go look over here for answers,a lot of what your lookig for is covered here.

[link]http://www.shark-racing.com/[/link]
Old 07-14-2004, 04:50 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

A big problem with a lot of chainsaw motors is that they run in the opposite direction of Homelites, Zenoahs, etc. so getting the correct prop and other things is a hassle.
Old 07-14-2004, 05:15 PM
OLD_SLOW and in the WAY

chainsaws dont run the wrong direction its just thet the starter is on the wrong side as far as our boats are concerned the shark Racing site has a bunch of stuff for saw conversions. but our free speach is stifiled here cuz we cant post links to sites that in thre least way might compete with the powers that be here. which is unfortunate cuz its all about helping the uninitiated to the RC world

ok i've vented

good luck
Old 07-15-2004, 08:51 AM
BajaBob-delete

The link I posted to Shark Racing above seems to work.

[link=http://www.shark-racing.com/]Shark Racing[/link]
Old 07-16-2004, 08:22 AM
wingnut1