Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Problems with radio glitching

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Problems with radio glitching

Old 08-06-2008, 08:19 PM
  #1  
monsterbrad
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problems with radio glitching

Anybody running a JR XS synthesized radio?
Mine seems to be glitching with a Duratrax fail safe on it.
I was thinking about going back to a good AM radio cause I am not racing or anything like that.
Anybody have any sugestions
Old 08-06-2008, 09:16 PM
  #2  
mauian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 251
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

Futaba 2.4 ghz. = no glitching, no crystals, no interference, user friendly, small receiver to fit anywhere, need I say more.....lol....
Old 08-06-2008, 10:56 PM
  #3  
rcboateric
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: henderson, NV
Posts: 900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

Check with your crystal(you might have a bad crystal) in the FM receiver if you're not using a JR synthesized FM receiver.
Old 08-06-2008, 11:16 PM
  #4  
Dan S
Senior Member
 
Dan S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oromocto, NB, CANADA
Posts: 2,882
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

I ran the JR XS3 Synthesized radio in all my boats that includes Nitro and Gas with a Duratrax Fail Safe in each one.

Never had any problems with the Nitro boats but for some unknown reason it went into fail safe in the gas boat always at the same 2 location while the nitro ran without a glitch.

Decided to go with the 3PM 2.4Ghz FASST and no more problems.

Why do you want to go to an AM radio? AM radio's are extremely not recommended for gas powered as they are more susceptible to RF noise.

Dan.
Old 08-06-2008, 11:34 PM
  #5  
dicko
Senior Member
 
dicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

It might be low voltage, have you tried running with a capacitor plugged intot he receiver to stop low volt glitches?

http://www.carolinasrc.com/webstore/...idproduct=4841

I run one of these as a precaution on my race boat. Spektrum do one too.
Old 08-06-2008, 11:46 PM
  #6  
Dan S
Senior Member
 
Dan S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oromocto, NB, CANADA
Posts: 2,882
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

That looks like a nice little thing to have.

Should not have low Voltage as I was using 6Volt packs, but anyway, my problems are now solved with the FASST system but for monsterbrad that would be a cheaper fix at $12.00 bucks to see if that will solve the problem.

Cheaper than replacing the radio.

Dan.
Old 08-07-2008, 12:13 AM
  #7  
dicko
Senior Member
 
dicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

Faast has been known to require those little capacitors too, especially in 1/8th buggy where you have a lot of steering & throttle input. The Faast receivers have also been known to overheat in 1/8th buggies on hot days. Some guys are drilling holes in their radio boxes in their buggies to help ventilate & cool the Rx. It's not such a problem in boats luckily.
Old 08-07-2008, 12:24 AM
  #8  
rcboateric
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: henderson, NV
Posts: 900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

that's a good stuff, I just ordered one for in case.
Old 08-07-2008, 12:42 AM
  #9  
dicko
Senior Member
 
dicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

A hint, once you've got one, you can get the specs and buy the capacitors at your local electric place & solder them onto an old servo lead yourself. It's a bit cheeper. If I had one with me I could let you know what they are.
Old 08-07-2008, 01:53 AM
  #10  
rcboateric
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: henderson, NV
Posts: 900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

Thanks for the hint, my Futaba 3PM synthesized radio would have a bit of a glitch when the boat runs too far away from me, within closer range like around 250 to 300 feet is fine, I had tried 2.4GHz FASST but had no luck if the boat is out of 200 feet then the fail safe would turn off my engine so I gave it up.
Old 08-07-2008, 02:21 AM
  #11  
Dan S
Senior Member
 
Dan S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oromocto, NB, CANADA
Posts: 2,882
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

200 feet? thats not much.

was your antenna inside or outside?
were you using the built in fail safe or an external one? I have seen problems caused by external fail safe with the FASST system, it seems it creates a conflict.

I have gone 600+ feet without any problem and at one time after bringing the boat back in I realized I had left the antenna inside the radio box by mistake and it worked without a glitch.

Dan.
Old 08-07-2008, 05:47 AM
  #12  
monsterbrad
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

I like the capacitor idea may work and I don't have to buy another radio.
Also
Can that capacitor be wired in using a pig tail cause all my channels are used up?
Old 08-07-2008, 09:47 AM
  #13  
rcboateric
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: henderson, NV
Posts: 900
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching


ORIGINAL: Dan S

200 feet? thats not much.

was your antenna inside or outside?
were you using the built in fail safe or an external one?
the antenna was installed on the radio box's lid and using its built in F/S, just didn't realize how that happened, but anyway that 2.4 radio is gone, I sold it to my friend for his nitro truck and heard no complaint from him.
Old 08-07-2008, 11:51 AM
  #14  
Dan S
Senior Member
 
Dan S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oromocto, NB, CANADA
Posts: 2,882
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching


ORIGINAL: monsterbrad

I like the capacitor idea may work and I don't have to buy another radio.
Also
Can that capacitor be wired in using a pig tail cause all my channels are used up?
Use a "Y" harness.

Dan
Old 08-07-2008, 09:46 PM
  #15  
monsterbrad
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

can I use the y harness with the fail safe?
Old 08-07-2008, 09:49 PM
  #16  
dicko
Senior Member
 
dicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

The failsafe needs to be inline between the raceiver and the throttle servo. The capacitor could go on a Y harness from the battery lead, or the steering servo, best bet would probably be on the battery lead.
Old 08-08-2008, 03:19 PM
  #17  
monsterbrad
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

I have a capacitor comming I will try this and see if it works.
I hope it does cause I am sick of the glitching.
How is the new Fasst radio?
Old 08-08-2008, 08:02 PM
  #18  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,312
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching


ORIGINAL: dicko

Faast has been known to require those little capacitors too, especially in 1/8th buggy where you have a lot of steering & throttle input. The Faast receivers have also been known to overheat in 1/8th buggies on hot days. Some guys are drilling holes in their radio boxes in their buggies to help ventilate & cool the Rx. It's not such a problem in boats luckily.

I have not heard of any such thing in boats. Cars and trucks may be, but not boats. I have 9 FASST RXs in a variety of gas and fast electric boats, all of which are used for racing. I have never had an issue with either the 603FF or the 603FS receivers. Rock solid 100% of the time. This includes in an 80 mph large 44-inch mono (holds 3 NAMBA speed records).
Old 08-09-2008, 04:20 PM
  #19  
monsterbrad
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

Well I will try the new capacitor and see what happens
How should I hook it up to a three channel receiver for the best results?
Old 08-10-2008, 06:44 PM
  #20  
dicko
Senior Member
 
dicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

if you have a 3 channel receiver, just plug it into the Aux channel plug.
Old 08-10-2008, 08:21 PM
  #21  
monsterbrad
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

dicko
You can never have enough power that is for sure
Thanks I will do that
Do you run one of these novak capacitors?
Old 08-10-2008, 09:08 PM
  #22  
dicko
Senior Member
 
dicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

I run a Spektrum one.
Old 08-10-2008, 09:13 PM
  #23  
monsterbrad
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

So i am guessing that I can just plug that capacitor into the 3rd channel then that is not being used.
Old 08-10-2008, 09:18 PM
  #24  
Dan S
Senior Member
 
Dan S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oromocto, NB, CANADA
Posts: 2,882
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

yes, plug it into your empty channel and
even if all your channel were in use you can still hook it up to an occupied channel using a "Y" harness.

Dan.
Old 08-10-2008, 09:25 PM
  #25  
dicko
Senior Member
 
dicko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 3,507
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problems with radio glitching

So i am guessing that I can just plug that capacitor into the 3rd channel then that is not being used.
That's what I do. I tape the capacitor to the end of my Rx & velcro the lot to the lid of the radio box. It's a bit hard to see inthe pic though.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.