Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Boat wobbles alot

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Boat wobbles alot

Old 08-08-2008, 09:14 PM
ddorche

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Boat wobbles alot

Hey guys ,

Have another newbie question .

I went on the water to try the boat with new engine in and the hull was pretty wobbly at higher speeds. sort of scary to control.
Is this more user lack of running experience or i can do some tweaking to the hull? Or both. I'm new in rc boats, so there is definitely alot to learn.
The boat is the AQ V24 with Sikk 27 and 275 prop.And it seams to run quiet wet.
Any suggestions? i want to take it back on the water tomorrow so please fill free to shoot anything that could help.

Thank you
Dan
Old 08-08-2008, 09:25 PM
schnipster

Default RE: Boat wobbles alot

a friend of mine has one....2 things
first =make sure your drive sytem is straight out from the back not trimmed up, this makes that boat run unstable
second=the adjustable trim tabs need to be straight out if not about 2 mm down from straight out inline with the hulls running surface

both of these items will push the nose down a little and i seems to work...not a pro just seen what my buddy did
Old 08-08-2008, 09:58 PM
ddorche

that make sense , thanks for the tip mr. will try that .
Old 08-09-2008, 01:28 AM
Doubledog
My Feedback: (48)

adjust the tabs a tad at a time.
Old 08-09-2008, 10:43 PM
ddorche

Thanks for the tips

burned 3 tanks, on and off, playing with different setups, trail and error. Nothing helped to unload the extra "wet ride" that engine had to push.
But tips regarding the prop setup, trims helped to keep it more solid on water.
I never had a chance to see how fast it could go: The hull was pulling hard to RIGHT at around 3/4 of throttle.Beefy servo? should i move the rudder farther pass the prop line?