Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

Adjusting twin carbs

Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

Adjusting twin carbs

Old 06-26-2010, 08:32 PM
chestervw
My Feedback: (20)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adjusting twin carbs

Need some help, (info), on adjusting the carbs on the new RCMK TWIN INLINE MOTOR to get them syncronized. Any help or information would be greatly appreciated.
Old 06-26-2010, 09:38 PM
Justaddwata
My Feedback: (3)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Adjusting twin carbs

Hi Chester - Welcome to the forum!!

I have no experience with the RCMK (though not many do at this point i guess) but the way I have been doing it with zenoah inlines is setting the stock carbs to factory basepoint to get it running and tweak by reading plug color (and checking fuel consumption) between the two motors. Running a pair of tanks (one per carb) affords you the opportunity to compare usage (which should be close). You should also ensure that both carbs are throttling at the same rate as this will also alter the fuel consumption.

error on the side of rich (especially with a new motor).

You might also ask the dealer for starting carb settings for the twin.
Old 06-26-2010, 10:22 PM
Scott Schneider

Just finished setting up a new S-520 twin with modified J&G cylinders .... and frankly the coupler between carbs used as the synchronizer is marginal at best IMO.
But aside from my opinion on that subject can share how some of the more basic twins threw the years have been done

Rather than having sync at closed throttle, place an @ 3/16" shaft into carbs throat lightly closing butterfly against it ( be sure butterfly hits the shaft at same location on each carb )... do this at the same time on both carbs. Then lock the two shafts set screws of coupler.
** This is synchronizing .... Mixture being equal on each carb is done the old manual way.