RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Speed - RC Gas Boats (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/speed-rc-gas-boats-236/)
-   -   Expresscraft GTX build (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/speed-rc-gas-boats-236/9353852-expresscraft-gtx-build.html)

goodson 12-23-2009 09:56 AM

Expresscraft GTX build

I need to start a build thread to contain my questions building this boat. Maybe it can be of some use to anyone building the same or similar boat one day.

This build will be a (somewhat) slow one. I'm in no rush to get it in the water, until it thaws at least. Also, this is my first build from a bare, undrilled hull. I hate making mistakes, so i'm extra cautious in my planning. I'd encourage any hints or advice through my build. Don't be offended if i don't use it, however! Some pictures have already been posted in other threads, and i will not post all of the pics that i take during the thread, so if anyone needs to see something in detail that i don't post, ask.

Here come the pics:

goodson 12-23-2009 10:13 AM

RE: Expresscraft GTX build

my first purchase was a speedmaster adjustable stinger and some WHH scale trim tabs. i was concerned with how short the stinger is, so i asked my LHS where i purchased it, and speedmaster themselves. they both told me "thats the way it is". not satisfied with that answer, i emailed tony at WHH. he, of course, suggested his own SPDIII system after i told him how i planned to use my boat. so far, i'm glad he did. i returned the speedmaster and picked up the SPDIII.

mistycreekboats 12-23-2009 12:05 PM

Very nice boat and looks like some nice parts ... have fun and take your time..

What are you using for water pickups? Couple nice flush mounts would keep it clean looking and no water lines on outside of hull.. Decided on engine yet.

Randy

goodson 12-23-2009 04:01 PM