Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

First time build with the circus circus

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

First time build with the circus circus

Old 11-25-2011, 12:10 PM
faceplantjae

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time build with the circus circus

Hello, my name is Jason and I am new to the hobby. I was advised to post this thread to show my progress and to seek help if needed. I have purchased the Dumas Circus kit, but will be using it as a template. I was supposed to start this week, but my National Balsa order was damaged when it arrived. I have the jig built and all the pieces traced and ready to be transferred. In the mean time I think I am going to build the kit just for the heck of it. I have decided to go with a CMB .67 engine and will go with accu-tech strut, rudder, and turn fin. Please let me know how you think it is going and any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-25-2011, 03:43 PM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts
Default RE: First time build with the circus circus

Please tell me you built the jig with a solid flat top over the whole width to support the middle of the bottom as well as the center framing
Old 11-26-2011, 07:09 AM
advanced builder

Your not the first one that used the Dumas ply as a template. Birch ply is what is needed to build a hull.
Old 11-27-2011, 09:54 AM
Hydro Junkie

It's what I've done to build a sport 20 Pak and will be doing the same to build a 1977 Atlas where I have most of the parts already cut out
Old 11-27-2011, 01:41 PM
hendocap

Yep you need a good flat surface or your wasting you time & $
Old 12-02-2011, 12:08 AM
faceplantjae

Hello all, I did build the jig with a flat surface. Here is a pic of the jig.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo39452.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	1694053  
Old 12-02-2011, 12:27 AM
Hydro Junkie

Two words of advice:
WAXED PAPER