Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

newbie with questions

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

newbie with questions

Old 01-03-2012, 10:51 PM
iampete

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie with questions

i am new to rc boats...new to anything rc for that matter. I'm working with a airstreak 500 made my kyosho with a .15 nitro engine. The boat sat for a couple years without being ran and I recently decided to start messing with it. I got it running but had a few issues. 1st, every time I ran itm the exhaust manifoldscrews would loosen up due to vibration I guess. I tightened them as much as I could every time I took the boat out of the water but they would just loosen back up as soon as I ran it again. So I was wondeing what I should use to seal the screws to stop them from loosening up? Also, I cant get it to idle very well. It wants to take off on its own as soon as it touched the water and it will move quick through the water without me even touching the throttle trigger. I tried messing with the low speed idle control screw ( or whatever the screw is thats on the carb with the little nut around it) but it didnt seem to change anything, no matter how much I tightned or loosened it. So how do I get it to lower the idle down so its not screaming all the time? My next question is where is a good place to buy parts for this boat? I have not been able to find many sites that offer parts for this specific motor. I have read some about people saying the best ways to make them a little quicker is to put a tuned pipe and a new prop on. The prop I think would be pretty easy to find, but I am not real sure what exactly a tuned pipe is. Is it basically a straight exhaust pipe? I am not even sure if a tuned pipe is available for my engine let alone where to find one. and suggestions would be great thanks
Old 01-04-2012, 12:04 AM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts