Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

1/8th scale hydroplane kits

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

1/8th scale hydroplane kits

Old 04-07-2016, 04:34 AM
xplayer930

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1/8th scale hydroplane kits

I'm looking to build a hydroplane next, what companies make scale kits? I like the Dumas Miss Circus Circus, but haven't heard to many good things about the kit quality, and if I'm going to spend 300 bucks just on the kit I would like a nice kit. Any suggestions? Btw this isn't my first boat build, last boat was a Easy Vee, and I have 20+ years of airplane building experience so level of difficulty isn't an issue.
Old 04-07-2016, 06:04 AM
Hydro Junkie

Received 122 Likes on 116 Posts

Does it have to be a kit? You can order plans from http://newtonmarine.com/index.php for pretty much any boat you could want. Your options are very limited otherwise as to sources or hull choices
Old 04-07-2016, 06:38 AM
xplayer930

Originally Posted by Hydro Junkie View Post
Does it have to be a kit? You can order plans from http://newtonmarine.com/index.php for pretty much any boat you could want. Your options are very limited otherwise as to sources or hull choices
I would like it to be a full kit. My build time is limited as it is with work, so I much rather have a full kit, unless I'm able to source out a kit cutter ?
Old 04-07-2016, 07:10 AM
moparbarn

Contact Mike at ML Boatworks, www.woodrcboatkits.com . He has a good selection of laser cut wood rc boat kits, gas, nitro or fe. He is great to deal with, & the kits are VERY well designed making them both easy to build & great runners!
Old 04-09-2016, 01:41 AM
Nichismo

^^^

I second that, and I gaurantee you 95% of anyone whose even remotely been up to speed with sport and scale hydroplane building/racing the past few years will as well.