Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

starting belt qustions

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

starting belt qustions

Old 10-19-2003, 01:18 PM
  #1  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default starting belt qustions

is it ok for it to rub on like fuel tubing? becuse its installed but when the motors running it looks like the belts gonna keep spining with the fly wheel and i dont want it to rub aganst the tubing an cut a hole in it or sumthing..
Old 10-19-2003, 02:03 PM
  #2  
Doubledog
Senior Member
My Feedback: (48)
 
Doubledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Gulf Shores, AL
Posts: 1,885
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

Rubbing equals friction-------- Friction equals something rubbed out.

For a brief moment and not too much pressure its alright. I guess I'm failing to understand the question.
Old 10-19-2003, 02:16 PM
  #3  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

ill get picutres its not rubbin on it hard theres room for the line to move when the belt tuches it let me get pics of it..
Old 10-19-2003, 02:21 PM
  #4  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

heres the pics
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk25484.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	68643   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mh21370.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	68644  
Old 10-20-2003, 12:12 PM
  #5  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

is the sullivan 17 inch belt smaller then the prathers belts?
Old 10-20-2003, 07:13 PM
  #6  
polstery
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: west hartford, CT
Posts: 353
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

when you release tension on the belt,after the motor is started, it will stop spinning
Old 10-21-2003, 12:53 AM
  #7  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

so when its running fast the belt isnt moving..becuse when i pull the pull start slow it moves but if its spinning really fast its not moving? because the clearance under the flywheel is very slim..
Old 10-21-2003, 12:33 PM
  #8  
Ken Hildreth
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Florissant , MO
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

can you pull the belt out from under the fly wheel after it is started. That is what we do with ours here. Even from the pics it is hard for me to tell just how much clearance you have under it. Ken
Old 10-21-2003, 01:38 PM
  #9  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

i tryed to do that but thebelt wont slip away from it easly i have to really push to get it away and i havent got it to slide away yet.. would it hurt if its still on the fly wheel when its started? i might need a slimmer belt that would slide under the clearnce of the fly wheel..

thats y im wondering if the sullivan belt is slimmer then the prather belts..
Old 10-21-2003, 04:05 PM
  #10  
ibstar
Senior Member
 
ibstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: england, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,061
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

push the bottom of the belt backwards under engine. but i can't work out why you need a starting belt if the engine has a pull start ????????????????????????
Old 10-21-2003, 04:06 PM
  #11  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

i like usin the belt method better its easer for me i guess... just hook up the starter n crank it over..
Old 10-21-2003, 04:11 PM
  #12  
ibstar
Senior Member
 
ibstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: england, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,061
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

the engine should start easy on the pull start if not its not set correctly. open throttle put finger over carb 2 pulls should have fuel up. then a couple with glow stick and you should be off.
Old 10-21-2003, 06:14 PM
  #13  
ady77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: norwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

b
Old 10-21-2003, 06:15 PM
  #14  
ady77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: norwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

[X(] see what you mean if it ain't broke don't fix it do away with the belt and use the pull start or if thats to hard to use put a flywheel on the back of the engine then you can take the belt out of the boat when you've started it have fun go fast
Old 10-21-2003, 06:19 PM
  #15  
ady77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: norwich, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

[X(] see what you mean if it ain't broke don't fix it do away with the belt and use the pull start or if thats to hard to use put a flywheel on the back of the engine then you can take the belt out of the boat when you've started it have fun go fast
Old 10-21-2003, 07:14 PM
  #16  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

the only thing i wana know is if it can be left on the flywheel when its started without a problem?
Old 10-22-2003, 12:38 PM
  #17  
ibstar
Senior Member
 
ibstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: england, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,061
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

if its rubbing on anything NO[&o]. you really should have enough clearance to move the bottom of the belt under the engine. i've not seen any thinner toothed belts than the one your using. not sure what coupling your using but you could try a couple of washers under the front engine mount to tip it up a little might give you enough clearance to move belt then. i take it this is a built up kit you bought and added the belt. but then looking at the pictures posted its not going to last very long without the radio being sealed in a box it will get wet and covered in nitro fuel resadue.[8D]
Old 10-22-2003, 01:07 PM
  #18  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

well there is a hatch tha goes on top once its started.. the recever is coverd with a ballon its under the white plastic the servos is what u can see on top..
Old 10-22-2003, 01:52 PM
  #19  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

im goin to try that washer method..
Old 10-22-2003, 02:53 PM
  #20  
ibstar
Senior Member
 
ibstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: england, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,061
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

only if the engine to shaft coupling is able to take a little angle
Old 10-22-2003, 03:51 PM
  #21  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

well its got the flex coupler its all done! an it works like a charm!! i can slip the belt in and under the engine..
Old 10-22-2003, 06:23 PM
  #22  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

heres a pic i used washers i stacked 4 of them up on each bolt to the engine there really thin washers the engine isnt moving tho its on there good..
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88736.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	69350  
Old 10-23-2003, 03:25 PM
  #23  
ibstar
Senior Member
 
ibstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: england, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,061
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

glad i could help.
Old 10-23-2003, 06:04 PM
  #24  
550racer
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
550racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 156
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

now i think i might need longer screws becse they barley poke out the bottum of the mount.. there on there tight tho but im goin to go look for longer screws..
Old 10-27-2003, 05:49 PM
  #25  
bgd71
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA,
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starting belt qustions

I couldn't read the whole thread so...

I had the same problem. I had to raise my entire engine mount by 1/4 inch and all was fine. I used rubber sink washers which reduce some of the vibration anyway. Just a tought...

Brett

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.