Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

tunnel runners

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

tunnel runners

Old 10-07-2004, 08:06 PM
daveyburt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tunnel runners

hi all

i'm fairly new to this and have recently aquired 2 tunnels (3.5 & 7.5)

After a few weeks here i'm noticing there's not many posts regarding tunnels.

They're a blast!

I'd love to see your rigs as I'm in the midddle of a complete rebuild, including paint, of the 7.5 (lapcat II)
...not sure what type of hull the 3.5 is but i'm comfortable crusing a prather 220 with some decent very nice rev's in the right water.
zingin....

Anyone want to share any pic's or setup tips for tunnels?

or

hehe

if anyone knows how to get a 11cc K&B ob w/exhaust throttle started, my buddy john would love ya.

happy rippin.

dave
Old 10-08-2004, 06:04 AM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: tunnel runners

I'm surprised that the 3.5 is turning a Prather 220 much less it fitting under the cavitation plate unless it has been cut down.
I've had a few of each in my time so I do have some experience with them. I don't know why we don't see more tunnel owners in here either, I loved mine.
Old 10-08-2004, 06:19 AM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

ORIGINAL: Ron Olson
I don't know why we don't see more tunnel owners in here either, I loved mine.
Too busy out at the lake having fun?
I loved mine too, sold it to a friend while building a new one. That was 1987. Still building the new one [&o]
Old 10-08-2004, 07:32 AM
daveyburt

yea...i filed a little off the tips to get it to clear.

the 215 was cavitating out of corners for about 30ft before hooking up. the 220 grabs much better tho the water conditions need to be just right (light ripple) to get it to buzz out on the high end consistantly.