Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Help me with my new /used 54" Dumas Scarab

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Help me with my new /used 54" Dumas Scarab

Old 12-29-2004, 10:42 PM
bigsbetter

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me with my new /used 54" Dumas Scarab

Hello, I'm new to r/c boats.I've just purchased a 54" Dumas Scarab with a O.S. .90. I haven't ran it yet 'cause I'm a little worried about a few things. It does not have a failsafe. There's no floatation in it. It looks like it's ready to go but what else should I be sure to do before I go out? I've started it and it runs great.How does this motor compare to the Zona 23cc,26cc gas engines as far as performance? What kind of speeds should I expect? It does not have a clutch... how can I install one? Please help!!! Oh yea... where can I buy a trailer so I can pull it with my Losi LST? THANKYOU...
Old 12-29-2004, 10:49 PM
ejp67
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: Help me with my new /used 54" Dumas Scarab

Add some flotation for sure. The failsafe is up to you, is your pond big enough that your going to go out of range? Just make sure you pull your antena out of your radio and you shouldn't have any problems. Trust me I had it happen at full speed. I would also put an autobailer to get the water out
Old 12-29-2004, 11:16 PM
TERBObob
My Feedback: (21)

Speed ? That will depend on setup ( strut angle , prop used , is the prop modified and by whom ? What shape is the engine in ?
Now , comparing to a Zenoah ( I assume this what you meant ) .... lets see , the Zenoah , will outlast and outperform the 90 .
you can mod the Zenoah yourself to get more HP and R's .