Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

complete newbie prop help

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

complete newbie prop help

Old 03-23-2005, 07:54 PM
joman2055

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default complete newbie prop help

My dad had this old Prather Tunnel Cat stiting on a shelf that hasnt been run for many years. We fired it up for about a couple seconds the other day and couldnt get it to run after that. It has a K/B 3.5 on the outboard. We ran it a few years back but it just keept fliping over when we gave it gas. I added weight to the front to keep the front end down and adjusted the egine so the prop was level. If I put a bigger prop on would it soften the low end punch similar to higher gearing on a car?

Any thing I should know before I try to run this thing? I have all the linkages setup and i tore apart the engine and cleaned it and replaced the bad bearings.
Thanks
Old 03-26-2005, 10:50 AM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: complete newbie prop help

You can only go so big on that motor because the cavitation plate limits you to only so many sizes. A 40mm prop is about the largest that can fit under it. Use the throttle to keep from accelerating too fast. How much weight did you add? I've seen some that have needed more than the usual 4 oz. to keep the boat from flipping.
Old 03-28-2005, 12:53 AM
joman2055

I dont remember how much we added i think it was like 6oz. It doesnt really matter anymore. I cant get the engine to start to save my life.
Thanks for the help.
Old 03-28-2005, 01:01 AM
Ron Olson