Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Question about throttle vaulves

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Question about throttle vaulves

Old 05-09-2005, 10:45 AM
GreenSnake2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about throttle vaulves

Hello people,as i am new to this, i was wondering if someone out there could tell me the difference beteween a sliding exhaust throttle vaulveand a regular throttle vaulve ann which one is better thanks much
Old 05-12-2005, 06:32 AM
ob nut
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Question about throttle vaulves

Are you inquiring the difference between a Exhaust throttle (ET) and a normal carb setup? They both work depending on what you use. The older K&B outboard ET's stink and I would not use them. ET's used to be a huge setup years ago, but more understanding of carbs and internal motor setups are the norm now. Some people do not like ET's since they tend to be messy, alot of extra fuel is dumped inside the motor compartment. I have used the 707 brass slider and Gardner's XXL ET's with much sucess on my K&B outboards. With a ET, tank pressure will be crank vs pipe.

Hope this helps...
Old 05-12-2005, 03:56 PM
GreenSnake2

Hey there OB nut,Appreciate the info on the exhaust setup. was trying to decide what outboard to use on a 41in boat. guess i will stay away from the ET,s thank you much
Old 05-13-2005, 06:03 AM
GreenSnake2

Hello there OB nut,itsme again. when i emailed you last, ihad already bid on a engine with the etsetup. so now i am stuck with it. is there any way you can change to a regular carb.appreciate all the info you can give. thanks much
Old 05-14-2005, 02:00 PM
ob nut

What motor are you using on the 41" boat? Hope it's at least a 7.5, but a 11 would do better. Let me know what motor you got and assistance will be a keyboard away As the saying goes, a picture is worth a million words.
Old 05-14-2005, 10:59 PM
Ron Olson