Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Newbie with a few questions???

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Newbie with a few questions???

Old 06-23-2005, 09:58 AM
Davcruz
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with a few questions???

I am pretty new to boats, I am currently "restoring" an old Dumas SK Daddle 36" as a gift for my dad. This has given me the bug and now I am selling off a nice Supermaxx to do a boat of my own.

So, the SK Daddle already had a Marine Specialties HBR double rudder outdrive on it, and I had to replace one of the 2 rudders. This got me thinking, because on all the boats I see they only have one rudder. So when are double rudders needed? Do the perform better than single setups, or worse? Are there any benefits?

Second to last question, I am putting a Dynamite .32 marine engine in the SK Daddle. The same engine that comes in the Shockwave. I also have the tuned pipe, but the headers are out of stock everywhere, what other header do you think would fit the engine?

Last question. I am thinking about the Shockwave as my first boat, but I also like the idea of building a boat. What would you guys recommend? By a RTR or build one, and if it is build one, what do you suggest for a budget of maybe $400, I already have a radio system, but I will need to buy servos.
Old 06-23-2005, 12:33 PM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Default RE: Newbie with a few questions???

I'm thinking of building a Wild Thing from plans, although I may upsize them a bit so I can use a .45 engine I've already got. It seems that some careful shopping you would be able to stay within your $400 budget. Plans are $15 from R/C Boat Modeler, I saw an estimate of $50 for the wood, around $200 for a .21 engine and pipe (OS or OPS would both be less), and you've got $135 left for hardware.
Old 06-23-2005, 10:24 PM
alex_hockey
My Feedback: (5)