Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Help with basic tuning and cutting flex shaft on Shockwave 36 newbie

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Help with basic tuning and cutting flex shaft on Shockwave 36 newbie

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2005, 02:17 PM
BaddogKY0007

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with basic tuning and cutting flex shaft on Shockwave 36 newbie

OK, I finally found a new SW 36 and have a spare stock flex-shaft included with it. I have also ordered the pra8021 (yes it is way long but it needs cut anyway) flex-shaft from the LHS. I will still order a MM18 when available. I know some of this stuff is in the Official SW thread but being a newbie I can hardly see the forest for the trees there.

Questions
Flexshaft:
How to possibly make the stock cable live. Someone mentioned they removed the washer between the strut and drive dog. Another mentioned that the thing was misaligned to start with and another says something about 1/4 clearance between strut and drive dog. Can you give it to me in laymans terms? I have a Dremmel tool and am pretty good with mechanics having built BBC supercharge engines and repair computers and peripherals. Just need a few instructions.

Break-in:
Should I run it on the bench doing the 2 liter bottle trick or just follow what is in the book?
Links on break-in?

Tuning:
Bunch of complaints in the SW thread about stalling, not running up all the way etc. How to identify lean and rich conditions? Starting point on needles? How much to change them at a time when I am close?

Auto Bailer:
Where can I get one without paying more for shipping than the part costs?

Exhaust Coupler:
How to make one or where to buy a better one?

Maintenance:
How often to lube cable and with what?

Whatever else I did not ask?

Take mercy on a humble idiot!

Tim T.
Old 07-02-2005, 11:04 PM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)