Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

cmb 100 and aeromarine catameran

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

cmb 100 and aeromarine catameran

Old 09-11-2005, 06:45 PM
pirate one

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cmb 100 and aeromarine catameran

I recently purchased a aeromarine cat with a cmb 100 motor running dual plugs. I have no experience with this type of setup. The boat is app 14in wide and 36 in long. the cowling sticks out the back of the boat about 4 inches. I could use any info on this type of
boat and motor (mainly motor setup) as it has not been run at all. Any info would be great. I can post pics if needed.

Old 09-20-2005, 09:37 AM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: cmb 100 and aeromarine catameran

The hull is too small for that motor. It is made for .21/.45 motors and barely good enough for a .45 . You'd be much better off dropping that big-block into a hull made for it or for Gas motors.
Old 09-20-2005, 12:43 PM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Ron, I believe the 36" Sprintcat is actually listed as a .40/.80 hull. The 29" version is for the .21/.45s.

However, I completely agree that a CMB 100 is way too much engine. It's going to be hard to keep the boat on the water with so much power.

I just got my 36" sprintcat running. It's got a second hand OPS .67. I only had one tuning session at the lake before its first race. Just when I got the pipe length right the coupler blew. I didn't have a spare, so it was off to the races with no more changes. With the OPS .67 it was holding its own against the gas cats and monos. While it lost a little to them on raw straight away speed (something I'll be able to fix with prop selection and more setup time), it was more predictable in the turns. When I was researching the boat others told me that even a .67 was too big and said they had downgraded to a .45.