Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
 .  A newbyprop weight >

. A newbyprop weight

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

. A newbyprop weight

Old 12-23-2005, 05:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default . A newbyprop weight

Hi folks! A newbie here so please be patient. I'm building a 1/8 scale miss bud hydro. Where on the net, can I get info on prop weight?

THX

Norm
Ontario
Old 12-23-2005, 07:19 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: . A newbyprop weight

Two words that you just typed scared me, newbie and hydro. I hope that you're not new to boating as a hydro isn't a good first choice for a complete new boater.
To answer your question, I've never seen anywhere a place that shows the weight of a prop. It generally doesn't do much good as when you're dne sharpening and balancing a prop it will be much lighter depending on how much was removed in the process.
Old 12-23-2005, 11:39 AM

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts

Ron, there is another definition of prop weight. He may be refering to the weight of the back of the boat that the prop needs to lift to get to a "good" running attitude. If that's the case, chinslip, you need to be around 1.5 pounds when you balance the boat on the rear of the sponsons. I do have some questions for you chinslip:
1) Is this your very first boat?
2) Which Budweiser are you working on and if scratch building, who did you get the plans from?
3) Do you have a CLUB OR EXPERIENCED BOATERS in your area?
I'll explain why I ask after I see your answers
Old 12-23-2005, 12:36 PM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

I got to thinking after posting if that was what he was referring to. I had first heard of that term over a year or so ago on another site. Before that, I had never thought about it but I wasn't messing with hydro's at that time either.
Old 12-23-2005, 04:08 PM