Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

ADVICE ON A NEW BUILD PLS

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

ADVICE ON A NEW BUILD PLS

Old 02-15-2006, 04:24 AM
so54i88

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ADVICE ON A NEW BUILD PLS

hi everyone, it's great seeing there are some many people out there enjoying building from scratch. i think it's the way to go. thanks heaps to those people who helped me sourcing boat plans. i'm going to start building my 1st boat. as i'm a newbie, i'll need some advice on building. i've got different ideas and questions. i hope it's not a nuisance to anyone. any advice is very much appreciated. well, here they are:

when they say ply, do they mean any kind of plywood you get from a building supplies store or some (expensive? []) special stuff?

i'm still trying to figure out the best way to waterproof the inside and outside. i think making a mould and fibre glass the whole hull is bit too advanced for me (well, at this stage anyway) but i'm thinking to lay a thin sheet of fibreglass on both inside and outside. is it a way to go? i hope it also adds a bit more strength.

as i'm on a limited budget, i'm thinking to try and make most of the hardware possible. is it really necessary to have a flex drive (i think this is what it's called) coz it's REAAAAAAAALY expensive? [&o]

what would be the best stuff to use to glue the hull? epoxy or some other special glues?

as this is going to be my 1st boat, i'm going to keep it small, well maybe somewhere around 25-30" as i'm going to use a 2.5cc with a pull start. is it a realistic size for a 2.5cc coz i dont really want a "shopping basket"

sorry guys, have been brain storming as i write until i realised it's a bit long now. any advice/thoughts are very much appreciated. cheers
Old 02-15-2006, 05:24 AM
Matty_c

Default RE: ADVICE ON A NEW BUILD PLS