Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

so confused on props, Need help!

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

so confused on props, Need help!

Old 02-22-2006, 06:32 PM
ledzep

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default so confused on props, Need help!

Hello, I am new to the boating hobby, and I recently finished my first boat. It is a shallow mono hull about 30 in long and it has a O.S 18. in it. Fully loaded with gas it weighs about 4 pounds. I have a octura serface drive and a Octura X438 prop. I have ran about half of a gallon of 20% nitro fuel in it. I want to push this boat to the limit without hurting it or the engine. I am so confused about props it is not even funny, I dont understand what lift means, or what prop would best fit my boat if I want to go for speed. If there is a web site that I can go to or if anyone can tell me about props and how to get the most speed out of my boat.

Thank you.
Ledzep.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om34167.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	413662   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oj27944.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	413663   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd83855.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	413664   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zt53164.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	413665  
Old 02-22-2006, 06:42 PM
martno1fan

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: so confused on props, Need help!

if i were you id buy some cheap plastic props in dif sizes,find one that works well then buy a goo brass prop in same size!!.apart from that im as dumb as you
Old 02-22-2006, 07:20 PM
Frank B.
My Feedback: (1)

Hi, there is alot of info here http://rcboat.com/past.htm

Frank B.
Old 02-22-2006, 09:33 PM
Ron Olson

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

Don't be afraid to pour the nitro down its throat, my .12 runs just fine with 50%, besides it freaks out the car guys when you run that much!