Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

putting a 7.5 K&B on the top speed 2

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

putting a 7.5 K&B on the top speed 2

Old 03-26-2006, 02:12 AM
lelandhild

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default putting a 7.5 K&B on the top speed 2

I am new to tunnel hulls and I really like the top speed 2 by aquacraft. I know its designed for a 3.5cc motor but I was wondering If I could put a 7.5cc K&B on it. What kind of speed would I get. Also, I was wondering if someone could give me some ideas on a tunnel hull designed for a 7.5cc motor that is prety easy to build. Any help would by much appreciated.
Old 03-26-2006, 09:16 AM
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: putting a 7.5 K&B on the top speed 2

Nope. Several reasons why not to. At rest the boat will sit low enough in the water with a 3.5, the extra weight of a 7.5 will just about sink it. The hull is made to handle the 3.5's and mostly the stock ones only. It has had problems handling modded 3.5's much less trying to put a 7.5 on it.
It's the case of trying to put a blown Hemi in a tricycle.
There are a lot of good 7.5 tunnel boats available but a lot of them are costly. One of my favorites is the one made by www.htbboats.com .
Old 03-26-2006, 10:27 AM
lelandhild

thanks for the quick reply. Could I get a K&B 3.5 to go 50-60mph on the top speed 2, If so what kind of mods would I have to do to it. Also how fast would a tunnel go in general with a K&B 7.5 on it. What a good tunnel hull kit, what about the prather 32" tunnel hull.Thanks again for the help.
Old 03-26-2006, 10:52 AM
Ron Olson

50-60 is pretty fast for a 3.5 tunnel, actually it's a good speed for a 7.5 tunnel.