Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

New to boats, I've got a hull now what???

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

New to boats, I've got a hull now what???

Old 03-30-2006, 06:35 PM
WingingIt74

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to boats, I've got a hull now what???

I'm new to rc boats. I have tinkered with cars, planes and now have a heli. I've had this hull for a year or two and now want to get it in the water. I know it's a Prather 31" Deep-Vee. It's painted with automotive paint back in the late 80s early 90s as it was my best friend's boat and his dad painted it. My question is what do I need to get it running. Are there any beginners books or web sites that can get me headed in the right direction, or do any of you want to give me some advice?
Old 03-30-2006, 11:09 PM
ob nut
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: New to boats, I've got a hull now what???

Most of my knowledge is with tunnels, but I will give it a try. First off, go to [link=http://www.pratherproducts.com/]Prather Products[/link] site to see if you can get the instruction booklet. I do believe that boat was built as a sub-surface drive. Most if not all racing deep v's are surface drives now-a-days. Are you planning on fun running or racing? If for fun, get a K&B 3.5 motor. For racing, CMB, Nova Rossi, Rossi and MAC are some fast motors. You'll need a 6 - 8 oz fuel tank, solid motor mount, stuffing tube, flex cable, strut, turn fin, rudder, 2 channel surface radio system, standard servo for throttle, 100 oz steering servo and a tuned pipe.. If you want a one stop shopping place, get ahold of Gary Preusse - G&M Models for your needs. Gary can be reached at 630-279-2451. He will KNOW what works for the boat / your needs. He will not sell you something you don't need. Be ready to have your ears talked off. Be ready to take notes..
Old 03-30-2006, 11:38 PM
WingingIt74