Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

help putting together a good cat

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

help putting together a good cat

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2006, 09:03 AM
sekwah275

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help putting together a good cat

Hi, im completely new to nitro boats, however i have run electric planes and boats and cars for a while, and have also used petrol planes for a year or so. Anyway to get to the point i enjoy my fast electric but wanted the added speed and satisfaction of using a ic boat, and my dad has an old (but still boxed and never used looks as good as the day it was made) Merco .35 nitro engine which i would like to put in a boat. I was thinking of the MHZ 'Isiklar - Zerodefect' hull, which is a 42 inch catamaran - http://206.206.85.209/xtdoc/Details....M&store=mhzusa. What do people think about this hull/engine combination, any advice or predictions on speed/andling etc would be great, i know obviously that there are a huge number of other variables such as prop size and type etc bt assuming i use the appropriate one can people give me predictions. Also if anyone thinks there would be a better catamaran hull for me can they let me know, as i say im new to ic and would like any help you can gve me!
Old 08-01-2006, 09:13 AM
330T

Default RE: help putting together a good cat

i have heard horror stories about MHZ, shipping delays for months, no support and so on.

a .35 nitro is a small power plant to push a 42" boat IMHO.

For less than half the price you could get a Mean Machine Hull only from Fun RC Boats. You could also get the hull and hardware package and get just about everything you need.

Mean Machine Hull from Fun RC Boats
Old 08-01-2006, 09:24 AM
sekwah275