Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Your help/advice needed...inherited boat.

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Your help/advice needed...inherited boat.

Old 08-31-2006, 11:40 AM
61 Bubbletop

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Your help/advice needed...inherited boat.

Hi guys,

My name is Jeff, and I live in Oxford, MI. I am looking for some help. While I have quite a bit of experience with nitro trucks and electric cars, I am a boating novice, I inherited my fathers 1/8 Dumas Miller American. He had completed about 80% of it before he passed away, I want to finish it for myself and my son to enjoy now. No racing, just blasting around my pond out back. The boat is painted, he was in the process of wet sanding it. I also have a .67 K&B inboard..Radio, high torque servo etc.. he has everything trial fit, holes drilled etc.... I have pretty much figured out where everything goes, I ordered new instructions from Dumas, as I couldn't find them. The main questions I have are:

(BTW, I have read all of the Dumas threads I could find....)

1. The fuel tank appears to be a sullivan slant tank rigidly mounted under the cockpit forward of the engine, there really is no option to move things so I am stuck with what I have. That being said, There is the pressure line and the feed line to the carb...The "cockpit" on top of the tank is solid, and the cap where the lines run through is not very accessible and I am wondering about filling the fuel tank, do you fill through the pressure line? I would think it would just push out the other line into the carb. Like I said, I am green to boats, but not to nitro engines and I am kind of baffled on this one. I am sure it is simple, (believe me, I feel like an idiot asking this one) and someone will point out the obvious...but I can't see it!