Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Advise to a new nitro boat racer?

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Advise to a new nitro boat racer?

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2006, 03:57 AM
007clint

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advise to a new nitro boat racer?

I am new to boat racing but have bought Miss Vegas and Miss LLumar Nitro RTR hydroplanes and enjoy running them on local ponds for fun BUT I want to get into racing.

I have read a lot about NAMBA and IMPBA and a lot of discussion threads but what about some specific tips for a NEWBIE wanting to get into actual racing?
Old 09-19-2006, 04:36 AM
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)

Default RE: Advise to a new nitro boat racer?

First thing is to find the clubs in your area. The IMPBA and NAMBA sites are a good place to look. If they're not running classes for the boats you have, ask if you can run in some other classes. Also, see if they're willing to post fliers in local hobby shops to attract more boats that are similar to the ones you've got.

Go to the open water days and club races to get a feel for how racing is done. Introduce yourself to the club president and ask which members would be good to help you. Don't be shy, ask questions, but preferably not when a person is about to race, and observe. You'll find that most people will bend over backwards to help a newcomer or even experienced boater. You'll regularly see people loaning parts, lending a hand to fix something, offering tuning and driving tips, etc.

And finally, a few things I think are most important for a beginner to learn is good preparation, how to start your boat quickly and that you get very few points if you don't finish.