Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

Old 08-03-2007, 10:35 AM
  #1  
j manikis
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TAMPA, FL
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

HAS ANYBODY HAD PROMBLEMS WITH THERE SPEKTRUM WHEN THEY PUT THEM IN A BOAT
Old 08-03-2007, 11:04 AM
  #2  
CapeTown73
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cape Town Western Province , SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

Hi JM,
I'm not a technical specialist, just a club boat racer. I had range problems with the DX3 last year, could not get around our course. The RX went into failsafe each lap about 70 meter away from me. So I got rid of the Radio. Bought a Nomadio Sensor and have enjoyed absolute problem free racing with this set, it's also 2,4 GHz and I use it in my 7.5 F1 tunnel. However, when the DX-7 was realeased they raved about it being a 'full range' radio, I took them at their word and bought one. I have practiced with it and all seems to be OK, and tomorrow will be the first full race day. I have the DX-7 in a 3.5 F1 tunnel with a Rossi and Lawless leg.

I see they have now released a DX3R. This may also be a 'full range' set but I'm not sure.

Hope this info helps you and let me know if you have any other related questions.
Old 08-03-2007, 02:32 PM
  #3  
j manikis
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TAMPA, FL
Posts: 12
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

I HAVE A M8 WITH THE PRO MODULE AND REC AND YES LIKE YOU SAID IT WOULD GO INTO FAIL SAFE MODE
Old 08-03-2007, 11:07 PM
  #4  
Jerry Dunlap
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 1,356
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

I have been running the Futaba 2.4 FASST system all year. The only time I had a range problem is one time I forgot to extend the tx antenna upward. Disclaimer - I am a sponsored Futaba racer, but have seen many other 2.4 FASST systems work fine.

JD
Old 08-03-2007, 11:19 PM
  #5  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

I've seen a lot of posting on the Spektrum having problems in boats when they first came out and have seen a couple of them glitch first-hand. Some possible causes were with the antenna too close to the tuned pipe or from being around too much carbon fiber in the hulls. Also another cause was the signal bouncing off the water. Some problems were found in the receiver itself with electronics getting bent from not fitting right in the case. Hopefully most if not all of those issues have been resolved in the newer version.
Old 08-03-2007, 11:39 PM
  #6  
revo4789
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Belle Chasse, LA
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

well i have a twincraft with a spectrum remote and receiver and not had a problem yet.
Old 08-04-2007, 09:54 AM
  #7  
Kelly Miller
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitewater, KS
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: SPEKTRUM IN BOAT

If you are at waters edge it will flip out (specktrum dx3) if I am up on the drivers stand (elevated) I have no problem.

Kelly

I am looking to change though

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.