Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Spinning a tuned pipe.

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Spinning a tuned pipe.

Old 08-16-2007, 12:20 AM
youdirtyfox

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spinning a tuned pipe.

Hi All,

As I work as a metal spinner, thought I may have a go at spinning my own tuned pipe for my aqua jet!
Anyone have any breif dimensions for me to work too. Obviously I think some racers will be keeping their
cards close to their chest's wich is fair enough if you've spent time out in the field researching pipe size's etc.
and spend money on different pipes etc!

Just wondering if thin or thick wallled ali is best an how the pipe should lay in the boat. Does it need to go cross ways to
give good weight distribution?

Cheers
Sam.
Old 08-16-2007, 02:48 PM
4X4FABGUY

Default RE: Spinning a tuned pipe.

Hi Sam, whats a metal spinner do? do you mean lathe work? just wondering. what size engine is in your aqua jet.
Old 08-16-2007, 03:37 PM
youdirtyfox

Hi, yes it's mostly lathe work, by hand and by pneumatic (PNC lathe) PNC for heavy gauge stainless steel(10mm +!) and hand spinning for 1-2mm aluminiuim
and mild steel

Some of our work below
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b3...ABCD0006-1.jpg
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b3...m/DSC00155.jpg - brake vent I made for my car
http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b3...m/DSC00128.jpg - My polishing [8D]

In the aqua jet is a cen .16 .

Cheers
Sam.
Old 08-17-2007, 02:26 PM
Pete48

WOW! Nice work there. Very cool! I assume the pipe will need to be 2 pieces?